Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2000, 02:36 AM
P_J P_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 292
Default Exporting/importing audio files between PT le > Logic > PT le ?

Which is the best way to import/export SDII files between PT LE and Logic Audio? I'm doing a project where I have to bring audio files between these two different software. Problem is that you lose original time stamps (=original recording timecode spots) because that information is saved to regions, not to audio files.
Is there any recommendable way to handle imports and exports between these two programs?

Thanks!
PJ
__________________
OS10.14.6 * pt ultimate 2019.10/eucon19.9x/aja15.22*omni*artist series/pt|control*trash 3.5ghz-6core/32gb/d300 etc
**post production (tv)**
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2000, 06:13 PM
mars mars is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Trinidad & Tobago
Posts: 86
Default Re: Exporting/importing audio files between PT le > Logic > PT le ?

Hi,
I came across this info a while back:

Logic Audio Platinum is now able to import and export time stamp information via SDII regions. This feature makes the task of moving compositions between applications, such as between Logic Audio and Pro Tools, much simpler, because it allows you to easily restore the time position of a region once it's imported.
This feature will work with any application that can read and write time stamps to SDII regions. The following procedure is for moving files between Logic Audio and Pro Tools.

Logic Audio -> Pro Tools

In Logic:

1. In the Audio window, select the audio files that you wish to export. (If you are moving all the files and regions of a song, simply 'Select All')

2. Select Audio Window -> File -> Export SDII Regions. Logic will time stamp the regions according to their position in the Arrange window. NOTE: If the same region is used multiple times in the song, then Logic
will use the position of the first instance of the region. For this reason, you will generally want to make all regions in your song "individual regions" before starting this procedure. Use Logic's Arrange -> Functions -> Convert Regions to Individual Regions menu option to perform this task.

In Pro Tools:

1. Add the audio 'regions' using the Import Audio option found in the File or Region List menus

2. Enable 'Spot' mode (disable the auto spot function)

3. Drag the regions onto the desired tracks in the Edit Window. When the Time Stamp window appears, load the Original Time Stamp value into the Start Point window and Hit 'OK' . The region will now be located at the same position as it was in Logic Audio.
-----
Pro Tools -> Logic Audio

In Pro Tools:

1. Select all the Regions in the Region bin that you wish to export

2. Select "Export Region Definitions" from Region List menu

In Logic:

1. Select Audio Window -> File -> Add Audio file to add the files that were exported from Pro Tools

2. Select the files you've imported in the Audio window and select File -> Import SDII Regions. The regions that now contain time stamped info will show up with small clock icons to the left of their name.

3. Drag the Regions into the Arrange window, onto the desired tracks.

4. With the Regions selected, choose the Functions -> Regions to
Original Record Position

NOTE: If the region has both an Original and User Time Stamp (see Pro Tools Documentation), then Logic will ask which time stamp you wish to use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2000, 12:15 AM
P_J P_J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 292
Default Re: Exporting/importing audio files between PT le > Logic > PT le ?

Thanks!
__________________
OS10.14.6 * pt ultimate 2019.10/eucon19.9x/aja15.22*omni*artist series/pt|control*trash 3.5ghz-6core/32gb/d300 etc
**post production (tv)**
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting PT audio files to Logic w/o OMF, how? sirgant 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-11-2007 04:56 PM
Importing and exporting OMF files ? ley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-15-2007 01:41 AM
importing audio files problem, from cubase & logic crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-21-2006 06:50 AM
Importing & Exporting AIF Files claudexsa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-02-2002 06:34 AM
Exporting Logic audio files.... Eric9volt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-11-2001 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com