Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2018, 02:07 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 324
Default Memory Location window should follow playback

Title basically says it all.

I've never understood why the current marker name isn't highlighted when the song plays. Unless I'm missing something... Programmatically it seems pretty easy to implement and would give you a great indication of where you are in the timeline. It would be particularly useful in long-form songs or soundtracks where sections/verses are many bars long and simply looking at the timeline window zoomed-in it isn't obvious. I think DP does this.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.10, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2018, 07:43 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,790
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

Obviously its only a guess, but the markers can be used for a lot of other things than just memory locations to mark song sections. For this to even be logical, it would require some sort of on/off toggle. But seems like a waste of resources IMO.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:05 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,430
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

This is maybe a good idea, but the Universe essentially shows where you are in a song
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2018, 03:55 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 324
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

I keep the Memory Location open all the time, that’s why I thought of it. Not really a big deal tho... Kind of be nice to have the option to glance there to k ow I’m in Chorus 3 as opposed to Chorus 4.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.10, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2018, 04:09 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

You have the option to show main and sub counters in the Mem Loc window if that helps.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2018, 08:16 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

i could see the use of the Mem LOC window lighting up with a nice Blue Color as each mem loc is hit .. and it would be ONLY the locations in the timeline bar .. not any of the other options that the Mem Loc can do (as was mentioned, you can do many things with mem loc's)

cheers john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2018, 12:37 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,188
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by climber View Post
I keep the Memory Location open all the time, that’s why I thought of it. Not really a big deal tho... Kind of be nice to have the option to glance there to k ow I’m in Chorus 3 as opposed to Chorus 4.
Turn on marker colours and you can see where you are in the timeline. ("Always display marker colours" in preferences>display)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2018, 02:30 PM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 182
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
You have the option to show main and sub counters in the Mem Loc window if that helps.
OT
I never knew you could show comments in memory locations. Thanks.
__________________
macOS Catalina 10.15.4
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro Retina, Mid 2014
16 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2019.12
RME Babyface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2018, 03:44 PM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 324
Default Re: Memory Location window should follow playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
i could see the use of the Mem LOC window lighting up with a nice Blue Color as each mem loc is hit .. and it would be ONLY the locations in the timeline bar ..
YES
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Mojave, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 32 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2019.10, Slate Raven MTi, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory location window bug Fritz macOS 4 03-15-2015 05:08 PM
Memory Location Window issue OliJ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-08-2011 10:36 PM
Playback location to follow playback MR290378 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-14-2010 01:24 AM
Re-sizing Memory Location Window Triflin General Discussion 7 05-13-2010 09:42 AM
using memory location window pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-14-2002 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com