Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2018, 06:26 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

I'm seeing an error stating that Physical Memory is running low. I have 32GB and have seen this error with Disk Cache set as low as 3GB. I close the session, RAM is still in use. I close the entire application and RAM is still in use. atMonitor tells me it's Pro Tools. So I kill the Pro Tools process and the RAM finally gets released.

Anyone else seeing this? I think it started in one of the recent versions of Pro Tools 2018.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,613
Default Re: Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

I heard that some of the beta builds had this issue, but I didn't think it was happening in any release version. Which exact version are you running(and have you tried moving to the next or previous version)?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2018, 10:04 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,998
Default Re: Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

... and *always* suspect plugins. Especially for memory consumption/out of memory. And they could also cause Pro Tools or a session to fail to close.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2018, 10:06 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 524
Default Re: Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
... and *always* suspect plugins. Especially for memory consumption/out of memory. And they could also cause Pro Tools or a session to fail to close.

This has been my experience as well.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2018, 02:28 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I heard that some of the beta builds had this issue, but I didn't think it was happening in any release version. Which exact version are you running(and have you tried moving to the next or previous version)?
I'm on 2018.10. Happened on previous versions as well.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2018, 07:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,613
Default Re: Pro Tools staying stuck in RAM after closing session and application?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
I'm on 2018.10. Happened on previous versions as well.
I haven't seen this on any released version(running 2018.7 at the moment). Wonder if its different between Windows and Mac?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session layout not being remembered after closing/reopening a session/Pro Tools! DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 1 12-23-2011 12:05 AM
Pro Tools HD9 (PCle/HD1) crashes when closing the application mnenezic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-30-2010 09:41 PM
Closing Session Shuts Down Pro Tools ryanwilsonfive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-18-2007 11:00 AM
Crashes when closing session Pro tools 7.0 Drive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-07-2006 01:34 AM
Pro Tools v5.1.3 Crash When Closing Session Chief Technician Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 09-21-2002 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com