Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-12-2007, 11:16 AM

Default Burn CD

I am a new Pro Tools user, but a guitar player of 35 years. I recently completed three tracks. I burned two tracks to CD using NERO with no problem. When I try to burn the 3rd track to CD, I get an error message that states that I need a dedicated plug-in to burn that track. Suggestions?
Old 12-12-2007, 12:14 PM

Default Re: Burn CD

Sounds like the third track was bounced at a different bit depth and/or sample rate.

When burning to CD, audio files need to be 44.1kHz/16-bit.

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Old 12-14-2007, 09:14 PM

I did determine that the session was @ 24 bit. I have been advised that using a dither with a master track may cure the problem and allow me to burn to CD. Suggestions? As a newbie this is intriguing. Why use 16 bit if 24 bit can be used when originally recording and then by using dither you can burn to CD? How do I burn the session recorded at 24 bit to CD? Suggestions are appreciated.
Old 12-14-2007, 09:14 PM