Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #441  
Old 01-20-2021, 07:05 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,159
Default Re: Dark Theme in Pro Tools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
This is nice that you're posting these - worth noting that this makes the parameter selection matrix in the import session data dialog box almost unreadable, and also messes up the I/O matrix display.

Really need Avid to make this a user-tweakable thing...
Amen on the latter thought. I like doing what I'm doing with the mods but it ain't easy and takes time away from other productive work. What sucks even more is there's no easy way on a Winbox to make the necessary mods like on a Mac. I've said that before and will keep repeating it. One of the major things that chaps my ass is why oh why didn't the beta testers catch this stupidity?


Or was this a slap-dash thing Avid put together at the last minute?


Something that worries me is with new versions will Avid make it such that end users can't make the mods? After working in my modified dark mode my eyes can't stand classic mode even after all these years working in that mode.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #442  
Old 01-21-2021, 08:45 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,305
Default Re: Dark Theme in Pro Tools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
After working in my modified dark mode my eyes can't stand classic mode even after all these years working in that mode.
I'm with you on Classic mode. I felt going back to classic might be a temporary solution to Dark mode shortcomings, but looking at Classic after having been in Dark for a while was not good. The glare in a dark control room was unacceptable given a choice.

So, I'm left with only the hope that extensive Dark mode GUI improvements for Windows are at the top of the 'to-do' list for Avid.

All-in-all though, hats of to Avid for embarking on this dark theme, even with it's shortcomings.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #443  
Old 01-21-2021, 12:31 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,960
Default Re: Dark Theme in Pro Tools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
In my opinion, no. This is the issue still preventing me from adopting Dark Mode despite trying several of the most recent suggested mods over the past few days. Trying to read insert names strains my eyes to the point of discomfort. Obviously some users are satisfied enough with the mods to make do and others are happy with Dark Mode out of the box.
Have you tried macsearcher's mods for the Inserts component? I've modified that just slightly from where he'd recommended it, but it's a solid change and entirely legible and easy to decipher.
Reply With Quote
  #444  
Old 01-21-2021, 12:32 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,960
Default Re: Dark Theme in Pro Tools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
All-in-all though, hats of to Avid for embarking on this dark theme, even with it's shortcomings.
Agreed. Flawed as it may be, at least they've opened the door to this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
How to change Pro Tools 12 to a Dark theme/skin Defier Pro Tools 12 7 03-26-2016 06:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 08:51 AM
Pro tools theme song....! roijin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-27-2001 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com