Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2018, 01:32 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,329
Default Opinions on Sonible smart:EQ+

What do you guys think of this? It's on sale right now at PIB
https://youtu.be/I_ouGpYgzSs
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2018, 04:53 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 428
Default Re: Opinions on Sonible smart:EQ+

I demo'd it, bought it promptly. Seems a bit fiddly at first, but once you grasp the concept, seems pretty easy to dial in the tone you're looking for. Definitely finds cuts & boosts that you'd have to spend quite a bit of time searching for with a parametric. Consider it a time saver.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2018, 03:13 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,329
Default Re: Opinions on Sonible smart:EQ+

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtmprod View Post
I demo'd it, bought it promptly. Seems a bit fiddly at first, but once you grasp the concept, seems pretty easy to dial in the tone you're looking for. Definitely finds cuts & boosts that you'd have to spend quite a bit of time searching for with a parametric. Consider it a time saver.....
Thanks, I wonder how it decides what frequencies to boost and what to cut. Pink noise maybe?

I don't know how much I will use a tool like this, I have Neutron and never use it, mostly because of the huge latency.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2018, 05:35 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 428
Default Re: Opinions on Sonible smart:EQ+

Smart EQ has a huge latency as well, so I'm mainly using it on the mix buss at moment. I have Neutron as well. In comparing the 2 on mix buss, Smart EQ seems to come up with much better sounding EQ curves.
In regards to Neutron, I can't really use it on individual tracks til I upgrade to 64 bit PTHD. But I transfer the EQ settings it comes up with to another EQ I can use, like brainworx V3 mix EQ. I find neutron can give you a very good starting point that you can tweak further as needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart tool not so smart again n PT9? garnoil Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 01-03-2011 02:56 PM
If the "smart tool" was really smart... <tongue in cheek> KingTor Post - Surround - Video 10 03-02-2010 09:47 AM
Smart tool not so smart?? Don Geppert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-04-2005 08:05 PM
Alan Smart C2 .....opinions ?????? yu121 Tips & Tricks 10 04-18-2002 12:38 AM
smart tool not so smart AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-13-1999 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com