Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2019, 02:39 PM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 84
Default 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

This is the most highly anticipated BUST I've seen since Y2K. Don't upgrade!

plug-in windows that randomly open, sometimes change, close again, open again on their own.

plug in windows that I *did* open deciding to vanish on their own.

audio that isn't there playing from a track.

audio that is there but muted (grayed out, i.e., command M) and still plays.

massive digital glitch-out forcing a restart 5 or 6 times a day.

MIDI notes disappearing.

Nope. I have work to do. I've stated before that I'm changing platforms, but I still need to squeeze another few months out of Pro Tools. I guess 2018.12 will take me to the end. Enjoy your extra tracks, everyone!
__________________
MacPro 2013, 12 core, 48G RAM
OS 10.14.4
Apollo x6 & Twin
Pro Tools 2019.5 (buggy!)
Avid Artist Mix
Studio One 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2019, 09:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

"plug-in windows that randomly open, sometimes change, close again, open again on their own." Seen here as well, but almost positive that its a Eucon issue(if I kill Eucon, all is well).

The rest of what you describe isn't happening here. It hasn't been perfect, but the issues I had were solved with a re-start of PT). My issues:
1-twice, I opened a session that would not play(restart of PT fixed it both times)
2-On one session, some Elastic Audio timing edits were ignored(the audio LOOKED like it moved, but sounded like it didn't). Next day, it worked fine.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2019, 09:56 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 780
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Since it arrived, Ive cranked ~60 hours into it and havent seen a single bug, crash, or error message. Im working on a post session >280 voices including two dozen virtual foley midi tracks, and ~8 VI instances. Its been an absolute dream.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreX iMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:05 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Since it arrived, I’ve cranked ~60 hours into it and haven’t seen a single bug, crash, or error message. I’m working on a post session >280 voices including two dozen virtual foley midi tracks, and ~8 VI instances. It’s been an absolute dream.
Same here but but producing and writing sessions with atleast 20 VI instances and lots of plugins with some pretty CPU intensive and everything is great!

Mac Pro Trashcan 12core Sierra 10.12.6 w/PTU and 2 x Apollo X8P aswell as 2 Satellite Quads

Haven’t tried on our Mac Pro trashcans with Mojave yet but Sierra runs like a dream 24/7 here with heavy midi work and audio recording. 200-250 tracks at 88.2 ...

I really feel for those who have problems but my head is spinning as to why there are so many that it just works for ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:46 PM
iigunzent iigunzent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 8
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Im living the dream here. Granted Im still running 10.13 on a 2011 MacBook with 16gb of ram and cant update to Mojave though. But 2019 is running like a champ for me all day for the last 2 days. The only issue Ive had was trying to transfer my license. I bought the perpetual a few days before it dropped and for some reason it wouldnt show up in my cloud once i logged in. But other than that, no problems once i got it up and running.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2019, 11:46 PM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSchroeder View Post
This is the most highly anticipated BUST I've seen since Y2K. Don't upgrade!
I'm sorry you're having such problems. It seems so strange that people are having such mixed results with the upgrade. I had a few small anomalies the first time I opened sessions on the new software but broadly speaking the transition has been smoother than I had hoped and 2019 looks like a significantly better program from my chair. Others seem to have had the same experience. And then there are others, like you, who've had a terrible time. There must be a common thread somewhere.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,332
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSchroeder View Post
Don't upgrade!
Sorry to hear you have such random problems. From everything I've experienced, and heard from people I know take good care of their systems, this PT 2019.5 combined with macOS 10.14.4 is the best 64bit combination so far -- which leads me to believe you need a full clean system reinstall if trashing prefs and importing your session data to a fresh clean session won't help.

Your problems are not common problems.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2019, 04:50 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Do you use Eucon devices? If so, be sure to read the whats new documents.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:47 AM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 257
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

I had some of your problems at the beginning but found that the upgrade changed some preferences on my S6, so yes, the windows that suddenly open are eucon related.

Said that, Ive worked many hours with 2018.5 without a single problem, old sessions and new sessions, Im very happy with this release.
Im on High Sierra, 3 HDX cards on a modified 64gb ram cheese grater Mac with a magma expansion chasis.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:23 AM
Dot Dot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: 2019.5 not ready for prime time!

Overall PT 2019.5 experience seems smoother, but there's still quite few bugs.

- random opening and closing of plugin windows (most likely eucon related)
- GUI lags occasionally
- When I export clips / or do offline bounce I have to turn off SSL Sigma Remote Control, if i keep it on Pro Tools freezes (but as soon as i turn off Sigma Remote everything gets back to normal)
- I still get some random AAE error -9173 (less than in the previous version)
__________________
www.dominicdotokune.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.6.1 ready for prime time now? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 27 12-23-2016 10:24 AM
IS PT 11 ready for prime time ? bonzerboy Pro Tools 11 4 09-14-2013 05:55 PM
PT 10.0.1 NOT Ready for Prime Time tomcat Post - Surround - Video 65 05-26-2012 09:01 AM
SSD ready for prime time? flommer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-28-2009 11:26 PM
6.7 Ready for Prime Time NuBus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-21-2004 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com