Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2018, 12:23 PM
katerkarlo katerkarlo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 73
Default Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

As I use Pro Tools with an RME audio interface, I am very happy Avid has finally introduced a way to turn off software monitoring.

Does this feature work the same way in HD Native? I think the manual creates some confusion ...

On p.514 there's a chapter "Low Latency Monitoring" which describes that if you select Options > Low Latency Monitoring then software monitoring for incoming audio signals on record-enabled tracks is automatically disabled.

But then it goes on: "To use Low Latency Monitoring assign each track to the selected Low Latency Monitoring Path as set in the I/O Setup Output page (see “Low Latency Monitoring” on page 60). Only tracks assigned to these outputs use Low Latency Monitoring."

That refers to HD Native only, doesn't it? Because in my PT there is no such option in the I/O Setup page.

So basically there's two kinds of "Low Latency Monitoring" options, one of which exists only in HD Native. That's kind of confusing.

Anyway, what I want to know is: Does the option "Low Latency Monitoring" in the options menu exist in HD Native too and will it disable software monitoring too? I am asking because I might be working on an HD Native system with my RME interface.
__________________
PT 2018.10 Windows 10 x64. RME Fireface 802.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2018, 01:23 PM
katerkarlo katerkarlo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 73
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Nobody? Maybe I should rephrase my question: How does LLM work on HD Native systems and in PT Ultimate + third party interface?

The manual says that LLM disables software monitoring so that you can easily monitor through the mixer of your audio interface. In an HD Native system this doesn't make sense to me, since Avid interfaces don't have built-in mixers.

It would make sense though if you were using PT Ultimate with a third party interface.

And why do you need to define a LLM output path if software monitoring is disabled?
__________________
PT 2018.10 Windows 10 x64. RME Fireface 802.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2018, 02:08 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Not sure I can help as I've been on HDx for a while but I'm confused where you say you'll use HD Native with the Fireface as the interface which is throwing me off.

My understanding is that if you use the Fireface then you not utilizing HD Native at all. Are you saying you'll be working with someone who has HD Native and you'll want to use Ultimate with your interface when not using HD Native?

C
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2018, 02:27 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,703
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

For me, running HDN card, HD and 192 IO on Windows 10, LLM has rarely worked as expected(and in some versions of PT, its been outright broken). Also, I was under the impression that LLM only worked with Avid hardware(if that's not correct, I'm happy to be wrong)



Having said that, I have never had any issues tracking at a 64 buffer setting. Is your system not powerful enough?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2018, 02:36 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
For me, running HDN card, HD and 192 IO on Windows 10, LLM has rarely worked as expected(and in some versions of PT, its been outright broken).
That very much sucks.

C
__________________
PT 2018.7 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2018, 06:05 PM
thomasd thomasd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam, the Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Hi, in Protools 2018.10 there is a preference in the Mixing tab to "Allow sends to persist in LLM". That's the solution for me, so LLM is on, I monitor for example the bass that is overdubbing directly through the preamp to a headphone mixer, and I send the playback tracks out on the send to e.g. output 3-4 of my sound card, which also is patched to the headphone mixer, Behringer 16 channel, that way I can keep my buffer at 512, which means I can already have a lot op plugins in my mix, so it sound like it should, while still overdubbing parts.
Cheers,
Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2018, 06:47 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by katerkarlo View Post
As I use Pro Tools with an RME audio interface, I am very happy Avid has finally introduced a way to turn off software monitoring.

Does this feature work the same way in HD Native? I think the manual creates some confusion ...

/* snip */

Anyway, what I want to know is: Does the option "Low Latency Monitoring" in the options menu exist in HD Native too and will it disable software monitoring too? I am asking because I might be working on an HD Native system with my RME interface.
As Carl already kind of said, the questions here make no sense.

The low latency monitoring utilizing the HD Native low latency hardware mixer only applies to DigiLink interfaces.

Avid has tried to clean up some confusion by naming the old HD software Pro Tools Ultimate. So let’s try to use that naming here as well.

LLM with Pro Tools Ultimate used with FireWire or USB or other non-DigiLink interface behaves the same as Pro Tools (standard).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2018, 04:30 AM
katerkarlo katerkarlo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 73
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
LLM with Pro Tools Ultimate used with FireWire or USB or other non-DigiLink interface behaves the same as Pro Tools (standard).
Thanks, that's basically what I wanted to know. I mistakenly referred to such a setup as HD Native in my initial post.
__________________
PT 2018.10 Windows 10 x64. RME Fireface 802.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2018, 04:38 AM
katerkarlo katerkarlo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 73
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I was under the impression that LLM only worked with Avid hardware(if that's not correct, I'm happy to be wrong)
That's precisely what's causing confusion here. LLM was introduced with HD Native (when you couldn't use HD software with third party interfaces). And apparently it still works the same in a HD Native system.

But with the latest versions, LLM has become available too in standard PT. That is, it's called the same but actually it's something different which is basically the option to turn off software monitoring so you can monitor your audio inputs through an external mixer.

IMO, the user manual contributes to the confusion, because the instructions on how to use LLM in standard PT (p.514) are simply wrong (see my initial post).
__________________
PT 2018.10 Windows 10 x64. RME Fireface 802.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:25 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Low Latency Monitoring different in PT 2018.10 and HD Native?

LLM has been available in standard PT third party interfaces for quite a while, but it was only available for the first two inputs. The new LLM update extends it to all inputs of the audio device.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1903)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues stakeoutstudios Pro Tools 2018 57 11-15-2018 07:02 AM
PT 2018 - Low Latency Monitoring issue: mutes signal briaboy Pro Tools 2018 5 06-25-2018 04:23 AM
Low Latency Monitoring with HD Native David Sandwisch Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 30 05-22-2017 11:26 PM
Still can't get Low Latency Monitoring With My HD Native Omni! mmk Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 10-25-2013 05:09 PM
HD Native low latency monitoring CamM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 34 11-06-2010 03:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com