Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:04 PM
chahende chahende is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 89
Default Test Tones

I hear distortion when playing test tones in protools if the fader level on the audio track is above -6dB. what can I do to correct the problem? I am using a 002 rack with pro tools version 7.1. I can post more info if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:13 PM
VanAmp VanAmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34
Default Re: Test Tones

How are you playing the test tones?

Are your meters showing red?

How high you can pull your fader up depends on how hot your incoming signal is.

If its really loud you may not be able to pull your faders up very far.

If its really quiet you may pull your faders all the way up and still not be able to hear it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:36 PM
chahende chahende is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 89
Default Re: Test Tones

I downloaded a few test tones from
http://www.genelec.com/support/testsignal.php. The file was converted when I imported them into a 48/24 session in pro tools. The waveform peaks at 0.0, not in the red.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:52 PM
VanAmp VanAmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34
Default Re: Test Tones

so the meters in pro tools do not clip, but the sound you hear from your monitors sounds distorted?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:48 AM
battman919 battman919 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 5
Default Re: Test Tones

yeah, i have the same problem. I thought it was speaker distortion, but i have since attenuated the input of my monitors. The distortion really incumbers the ability to push any track to even close to 0dBfs.
there are no clip lights. It sounds like distortion coming right out of pro tools itself. you can reduce/eleminate the distortion if you pull the fader down, but then you lose your precious fat sound.
any suggestions?

and no, it isn't a motherboard issue, like the guy at digi tech support told me. everything else runs fine wiht multiple plugs and multiple tracks. i pull plugs off one at a time and the problem doesn't follow any of them.
-bret
__________________
Now more than ever, it is good to be a Sinfonian!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:13 PM
VanAmp VanAmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34
Default Re: Test Tones

Try it with headphones and see if you still get distortion
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acoustic Test Tones, Pro Tools Session Mikbunn Tips & Tricks 1 03-29-2008 11:28 PM
Distortion Test Tones chahende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-01-2007 08:25 PM
Test Tones for playback setup bryanbassett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-05-2004 12:43 PM
Digizines' guitar tones test!!!!! GORILLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-04-2004 04:42 PM
LayBack Test Tones sessions Tips & Tricks 13 10-29-2003 07:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com