Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2007, 05:56 PM
dts.music dts.music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Default How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

Can I get it without using audio on a track or is that what triggers it? I want some record scratch/dust in parts of a song where there's silence. I have "Vinyl." Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:12 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

Your question confuses me a little. Vinyl is a plugin. It does exactly what you're asking about. It can be used to effect any audio passing through any track that it is inserted on; the audio does not need to be recorded to the track to be processed.

What is it exactly that you are trying to do?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:54 PM
VanAmp VanAmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

I have never used vinyl but I would try this.

Add and aux track add vinyl to the aux track and in the edit window draw in volume automation to add the effect to desired locations.

try it and let me know how it goes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:24 PM
dts.music dts.music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

scratch/dust by itself, like an old dirty record before the song starts...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:21 AM
funeral funeral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Durham / Newcastle, UK
Posts: 111
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

you can buy samples of audio with 'scratches' / noise on them - otherwise some synths produce that type of sound, my korg tr does...........

you could use the plugins mentioned above but these only work when audio is passing through...................

ever thought of buying an old record player and making the sample yourself?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:54 AM
Mr.BossPlaya Mr.BossPlaya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: M.I.A.M.I.
Posts: 179
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

sample tank 2 has that effect you're looking for
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:12 AM
wheresmyfroggy wheresmyfroggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 361
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

http://sounddogs.com/


Should find some here

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:02 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

Quote:
you could use the plugins mentioned above but these only work when audio is passing through...................
That's actually not true. The vinyl plugin, when inserted on an AUX track will produce this effect; no audio has to be passing through it at all. To record the output of the plugin to an audio track, you would just bus the output from the aux track to a record enabled audio track.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2007, 09:46 AM
Majorek Majorek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Blue Garbage Planet
Posts: 222
Default Re: How to Get the \"Scratched Record\" effect?

I get and simulate the effecst of old vinyls with the great izotpe Vinyl plugin.
That's definitly what you should give a try, here: http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/vinyl/

Have fun scratching and putting dust into your sounds!!
__________________
MacBook Pro - OS X 10.6 - Pro Tools LE 8 - Mbox 2

Drone / Ambient / Experimental
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I record with insert effect? cuttothebeat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 06-15-2017 10:38 AM
Looking for Record Player turning on effect... nexis General Discussion 13 01-06-2013 06:07 PM
Record/Tape Switch Off Effect The Dougfather Tips & Tricks 4 06-10-2007 01:53 PM
slow down record effect Locash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 03-06-2004 01:32 AM
Record Stop Effect snoopy Tips & Tricks 7 11-01-2002 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com