Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2007, 08:35 PM
VanAmp VanAmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 34
Default G5\'s

I have been working on a dual G4 for a long time and am finally going to upgrade.

I usually try to stay away from brand new computers (intel macs) so I am probably going to get a dual G5 1.8 or 2ghz.

Just wanted some opinions on running PT LE on G5's. Are there any known issues? Are the current intel macs any faster then the higher end G5's

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2007, 05:45 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: G5\'s

People are quoting Macbooks are faster than dual G5's, like you i'm not keen to go to intel but it's the future and at some point we're gonna have to jump before we're pushed, for the minute im just gonna use my iBook and sit on the cash and update when i have to, the macs are changing all the time and better bang for the buck is always nice.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2007, 05:53 AM
req06 req06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 412
Default Re: G5\'s

I was in the same situation as you a while back. I managed to get a dual g5 with an apple display for £800 and I'm very happy with it. It does everything I need and I do mix some heavy sessions totally ITB with it, using sony,massey,duy plugs etc.

I thin you can get some good deals with the G5's and theyre quite cost effective, my plan is to probably upgrade to an intel mac in a coule of years time. £400 a year for my professional system is a good deal for me.

There are some issues with the rtas multi processor engine, in that some plugs don't use it efficiently but I haven't had any major dips in productivity.

Hope this has helped.
__________________
G5 dp 2.0Ghz, 2.5 gb RAM/ G4 Powerbook 15" 1.33mhz, 2gb RAM/ 002r/Lacie D2 FW800/PTLE 7.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2007, 03:37 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: G5\'s

I'd like to go to a laptop as well (maybe pick up an Mbox mini for mobile mixing, editing), but I'd want a pretty big step up in CPU, too, which the MacBooks aren't offering. I'm doing fairly large sessions on my G5, as well, with lots of plugs, so if I'm going to upgrade, I want at least 50% more power. I'd like to be able to mix at 128 one day.

PT 7 helped me out substantially in terms of processing power. Well worth it in my case, but I'm pretty limited for plugs (some McDsp, Focusrite, Bombfactory, and a few others; I stay away from Waves and Sony).
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2007, 03:46 PM
twix twix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 272
Default Re: G5\'s

I have a quad G5 and I can run 48tracks with alot of subs/effects with ALOT of plugins at 48k without issues. I use mostly Waves plugs. Definitely worth the upgrade, IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT8 on G5's kiwisounddesign Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 12-09-2010 03:59 PM
The new G5's are here... cwhite771 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 10-21-2005 06:26 AM
new mac G5's lampmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 04-26-2005 11:50 AM
OS 9 on G5's???? NuBus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-10-2005 06:21 PM
G5's and RAM Brian_Gray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-01-2003 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com