Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-14-2017, 01:13 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

From where does files were created?

I want to try that.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-15-2017, 08:50 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

Was having an issue on one system where I could not bring up the import audio via hotkey, or via drop down window (greyed out). What ended up being the case, was that there was an active search in the clip bin, clearing the search (shift+cmd+D) then allowed me to import.

This only happened on one of the 9 systems we have running in house, multiple of which are running the same version PT12.5.2. Can recreate on that system like clockwork.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-15-2017, 12:58 PM
Propha C Propha C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 4
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

Problem still exists. Macbook Pro 10.12.3; PT 12.7.1 This is the absolute dumbest thing.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-15-2017, 01:24 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Propha C View Post
Problem still exists. Macbook Pro 10.12.3; PT 12.7.1 This is the absolute dumbest thing.
Yeah it’s dumb for sure.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...1-Release-Info

PT 12.7.1 the latest macOS support is 10.12.2
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-10-2018, 07:08 PM
Chirr Chirr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 6
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

I recently encountered a similar issue. I was sent a collection of mp3 files to review. When trying to import into a session as usual (Shift+Command+I), the mp3's were greyed out. I tried again on a separate/older PT system and had the same problem. Then I noticed that the files didn't include the `.mp3` extensions in their names, even though they were mp3 files. After appending each file with `.mp3` at the end of the name, Pro Tools recognized them and I was able to succssfully import.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-07-2019, 01:09 PM
degs7 degs7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 181
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

bump
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-08-2019, 08:09 AM
RobbaDobba RobbaDobba is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 274
Default Re: Import Audio greyed-out search results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirr View Post
I recently encountered a similar issue. I was sent a collection of mp3 files to review. When trying to import into a session as usual (Shift+Command+I), the mp3's were greyed out. I tried again on a separate/older PT system and had the same problem. Then I noticed that the files didn't include the `.mp3` extensions in their names, even though they were mp3 files. After appending each file with `.mp3` at the end of the name, Pro Tools recognized them and I was able to succssfully import.
To this I say, everyone should make sure they show file extensions in their Finder settings. Otherwise, you’d run around in circles and may never catch an issue like Chirr’s.
__________________
One good thing about music: when it hits, you feel no pain. --Bob Marley

Main Rig: Mac Pro (4,1) Quad Core 2.66GHz (Nehalem) / 12GB RAM / OS 10.10.5 / Digi 003R Factory / PT 11.3.2 / Waves Diamond Native 9 / Mackie Baby HUI / Crucial MX300 SSD (System), WD Caviar Black (Audio) & Green (Backup) HDDs / Mobile Rig: MacBook Pro 13-inch (8,1) Intel Core i7 2.8GHz / 16GB RAM / OS 10.10.5 / PT 11.3.2 / Waves Diamond Native 9 / Samsung EVO 850 SSD (System), Oyen Digital FW800 HDD (Audio)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import audio from CD greyed out? mhender General Discussion 0 08-23-2013 04:42 PM
Import Audio search window results will not import BA Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-25-2008 10:00 AM
Search feature in import audio window Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-19-2007 04:51 AM
Noisy audio import results bubbiesdod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-29-2006 11:47 AM
import audio is greyed out on the file menu sselrahc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-23-2003 05:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com