Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:22 AM
krabbencutter krabbencutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 76
Default AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

http://www.avidblogs.com/pro-tools-2019-fall/


Pretty underwhelming if you're not a PT Ultimate user
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:36 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 811
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Pretty useless/uninteresting if you're not a PT Ultimate user doing sound to VIDEO!

This is not worth paying a single cent for, to me.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

About time POST gets some love... but the one thing that benefits all users is work on Avid Video Engine which is the one that prevents current PT from launching on Catalina.

This still didnt say anything about compatibility, it also didn't mention anything about HDX Voice Upgrade, so maybe purely new features this time? We shall see soon. Not supporting Catalina is no surprise at this time, but if the HDX upgrade still isn't released that would be a surprise.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:55 AM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 102
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Ah well..it's been emotional, Pro Tools..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2019, 09:20 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 811
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

!!! Awesome.

This is great news. PT has needed an AVE refresh for a long time now.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2019, 09:59 AM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 125
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

As a Native user who primarily uses ProTools for video work, this is extremely exciting for me. I was wondering where this update was in the process since they announced they were working on the video engine a good number of months back (around the time of the last update).

To give reference, the best playing video in ProTools is typically standard definition in containers / codecs I don't usually use. I'm a freelance cinematographer (main career) who also randomly has an audio background. Needless to say, doing audio work with ProTools is the time where I get to finally see and feel the way the film / commercial works outside of rudimentary leveling during video editing. Marrying in 4K to the process is going to be really cool.

Similarly, half of my posts on the DUC are probably related to my undying critique of AVID's slow release cycle when it comes to new OS compatibility (since I typically like to keep my system updated alongside compatibility for my video editing apps). Hearing this video engine replacement will also help move along Catalina compatibility is a great start.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Jr. View Post
Hearing this video engine replacement will also help move along Catalina compatibility is a great start.
Just an educated guess, pure speculation
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:28 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 167
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Logical update for PT's core professional users. Avid has limited resources and has to use them strategically as they see fit.

As a native music person - this does nothing for me. I'm not in Avid's target customer demographic right now. That's OK. There are alternative solutions out there if I feel the value proposition of PT isn't there for me anymore (it isn't).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2019, 03:10 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 77
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

I know it's only a Press Release, but for video, all they talked about was adding support for different codecs and HR vid. I am more interested in knowing if they re-coded the Video Engine so that it... doesn't suck monkey balls when I"m scoring to video with a ton of VIs. I switched to using Video Slave Pro (on the same machine) a few years back, and get far better results - which should be embarrassing for the company that makes Media Composer.

Now, I get that there's a lot of legacy code in there that had to be purged... the only glimmer of hope that I see is near the bottom of that sections, where it says "...the addition of smoother H.264 video playback..." So, maybe it's better?

But a Press Release isn't going to highlight how they're fixing something that they've bolloxed previously, so I guess we'll wait and see. Still wouldn't make me feel like the last years' $400 wasn't wasted, but hey, it'd be a start.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2019, 03:17 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Well for what all we know they MUST revamp their video engine for Catalina compatibility so let's just hope that's what they have been doing lately and support is closer than we think. The press release said nothing about it so not likely in this release.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Pro Tools 2018 update to 2019? Lotus Studio Licensing & Accounts 6 06-16-2019 03:04 PM
nudging tracks in VCA spill broken since Eucon 2019.5 update yoerik Pro Tools | S3 1 06-10-2019 11:09 AM
S5 & Pro Tools 2019.5 MarcOFB System 5 6 05-13-2019 09:15 AM
Avid Pro Tools 2019 Perpetual License - Update through 03-30-20 Ted Swan Buy & Sell 0 05-09-2019 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com