Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:30 PM
digi003 digi003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: london, UK
Posts: 148
Default Best group / Aux set up

Might be a bit of an obvious one this but what the best way to set uo grouping in PT10.

For example if I have a drum mix of say 8 channels and i want to group them all together to one fader so i can turn up the whole level of the drums or down
using one fader and on that group fader i might want to insert a compressor.

also in this example if i change one of the levels of the 8 channel drums going into the buss i might not want it to affect the compressor.

So say if i set the compressor when all the drum are running but in the arrangement the kick drops out for a bit i wouldn't want it to greatly change the sound of the reset of the drums
__________________
Protools 10: Asus M2N 1392 : 8GB Crucail DDR2 800 :
MBOX PRO2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:51 PM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

I'd use VCAs ... assuming you have CPTK(2) license.
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2019 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2019 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:16 PM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

If you don't have the CPTK, than routing all the drums to an AUX is a good way to do it.

This is the way I do it, I route all the different sections, Drums, Guitar, Vocals to their own Aux tracks, then to a 2TRK Aux, then the Master.

I have it set up this way so that if I'm running low on CPU, I can quickly record one of the sections to a stereo audio track and disable them.

Doing it that way, you can adjust the level of the Aux, all of the drums, without having to group them, so you can adjust their levels separately also.
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:53 PM
lownotesinc lownotesinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

Just curious, Why the 2TRK Aux before the Master? Is that so the Master doesn't
get overloaded?
-LN
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:01 PM
digi003 digi003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: london, UK
Posts: 148
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

so route all channels to an aux track and inserting a compressor on that track

but what about my question regarding how much the compressor will be worked if say in the arrangment things drop out in th drums
__________________
Protools 10: Asus M2N 1392 : 8GB Crucail DDR2 800 :
MBOX PRO2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:24 PM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

If you used individual reverb sends on the 8 channels remember those 8 drum track levels are staying the same but you are lowering their volume on the aux group.

You will now have more reverb than you did because the reverb level did not lower with the aux volume.

A way around this is to have all the drum reverbs/delays output to that same drum group aux channel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:25 PM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: Best group / Aux set up

I route it to a 2TRK because I prefer to record the mix to an audio track in the session rather than bouncing out.

So the 2TRK acts as my mastering strip also.


Also at the same time, then I can have reference tracks in the session, routed to A 1-2, and they aren't affected by the mastering on the rest of the session.
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
c/24 age group BLUNTBRAD ICON & C|24 5 12-09-2013 05:28 PM
1 track in group isn't responding with group! gregwor macOS 7 01-25-2011 08:22 PM
The Group Won't Go Away! Sound Student 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-29-2010 05:26 PM
Group Bug? Kris75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-06-2008 01:30 PM
Group Persists for Resizing Even When Group Turned Off. holden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2008 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com