Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:38 PM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Waves Announces AAX Native

In response to user requests, Waves Audio (booth 6824) announces support for the AAX Native plugin platform. Waves has always strived to support as many plugin platforms as possible, including VST, RTAS, TDM, AudioUnits and others. With this new development, Waves plugins now support the AAX platform, used by Avid HDX systems.

“AAX Native support has been a frequent suggestion from users,” Gilad Keren, Waves CEO and co-founder. “We are happy to respond to market demand with this new compatibility.”

Ed Gray, Director of Partnering Programs for Avid remarks, "Waves’ arrival onto the AAX platform with its AAX Native plug-ins is great news for our mutual users of Pro Tools 10 and Pro Tools HDX. The range and quality of processors offered by Waves remains superior, and AAX compatibility will make Waves plug-ins an obvious addition to new and upgraded Pro Tools systems. We are grateful for this support."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:37 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Don't see any info on whether it's WUP covered.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 02:13 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave911 View Post
Don't see any info on whether it's WUP covered.
That is the 64,000 Question. I'm hoping and guessing yes
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2013, 10:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,039
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Also one of the most interesting questions IMO is whether TDM WavesHell can co-exist with the AAX WavesHell so is this going to be bad for TDM customers? Because all new plugins always require latest installer and if the latest and greatest lacks TDM we're screwed. IF the new WavesHell would just have replaced RTAS with AAX-native, keeping the TDM compatibility for TDM users, then it would be great.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:01 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,786
Default Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Also one of the most interesting questions IMO is whether TDM WavesHell can co-exist with the AAX WavesHell so is this going to be bad for TDM customers? Because all new plugins always require latest installer and if the latest and greatest lacks TDM we're screwed. IF the new WavesHell would just have replaced RTAS with AAX-native, keeping the TDM compatibility for TDM users, then it would be great.
TDM won't work with PT11 so you're going to be stuck if you wanted to use Waves AAX native anyway.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2013, 04:24 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,433
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
TDM won't work with PT11 so you're going to be stuck if you wanted to use Waves AAX native anyway.
He's not talking about pt 11 but on pt 10.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2013, 04:26 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,039
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

AFAIK, current version is still PT10 which supports TDM and what Waves V9 supports as well...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2013, 04:32 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,549
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Also one of the most interesting questions IMO is whether TDM WavesHell can co-exist with the AAX WavesHell so is this going to be bad for TDM customers? Because all new plugins always require latest installer and if the latest and greatest lacks TDM we're screwed. IF the new WavesHell would just have replaced RTAS with AAX-native, keeping the TDM compatibility for TDM users, then it would be great.
Hi,

Should be able to just mix waveshells!

I'm doing it now. Waves V9 has terrible scrollwheel support, so i have installed V8 for all plugins exceprt the last 4-5 that need V9


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2013, 06:28 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
I'm doing it now. Waves V9 has terrible scrollwheel support, so i have installed V8 for all plugins exceprt the last 4-5 that need V9.
+1. I'm also doing this.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2013, 07:53 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,104
Default Re: Waves Announces AAX Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Should be able to just mix waveshells!

I'm doing it now. Waves V9 has terrible scrollwheel support, so i have installed V8 for all plugins exceprt the last 4-5 that need V9


Chris
Same here. V9 has GUI issues that V8 does not have.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Announces Pro Tools|HD Native Avid General Announcements 0 10-06-2010 11:55 AM
Avid Announces Pro Tools|HD Native Avid Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-06-2010 11:55 AM
Avid Announces Pro Tools|HD Native Avid Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 10-06-2010 11:55 AM
Waves announces Native Surround Tools... Ducky General Discussion 5 10-09-2005 10:09 PM
Waves Announces DSP Power... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 05-29-2005 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com