Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-24-2008, 09:16 PM

Default Coming back to ProTools

Hi Everyone... Looking for some help.

I entered the DIGI world 8+ years ago with an 001 and had fun. Then, I got married, had 3 kids etc. Well, now I'm getting back into the scene and all my equip is outdated.

I nievely bought a used MBox 2 Factory off of Ebay, (in shipping). I'm not not sure whether the seller is the original owner. I'm new to the iLok concept, but am I basically up the creek on the factory plug-ins? I believe all the software is there, but are their rights already taken? How do I approach this?

Also, should I with a MacBook or an iMac?
Also, is the $75 7.4 upgrade OK for me to purchase (the one I bought has7.0) or did I have to buy a new MBox2?

Sorry for the dumb questions.
Old 07-24-2008, 09:35 PM

If it was advertised as the factory package and you don't get an ilok for/with the authorizations, then I would return it for false advertising. It if was sold in good faith, then maybe Digi has some reasonable way to transfer the authorizations to you.. Maybe you just need to purchase an iLok?

I would only get a laptop if you absolutely need that much portability. An iMac for the same price as a laptop will be more powerful, so it will remain useful for longer. An iMac is also pretty reasonable to move around for on location recording.. Plan on buying an external FW drive whichever computer you get..

If it includes 7.0, then i think you should only need to pay the $75 to get up to 7.4...
Old 07-24-2008, 09:39 PM

Thanks for the reply. All the other threads are so technical and mine is pretty lame, so thanks for the time.
Old 07-25-2008, 02:44 PM