Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2014, 09:24 AM
Willard Willard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rawlinson End
Posts: 139
Default C|24 Diagnose Problem of Low Thud Through Sub Output Channel 3 Only

Oops. Previously posted this in the "Control|24" forum.

I have a C|24, purchase late 2007. In the past month I’ve been getting a low pulse/thud (about 50bpm) through the sub. Here’s the details.

Channels 1 and 3 out of C|24 connected to KRK S10. Then feeding through from the KRK S10 to two KRK v6s.
I hear the low pulse/thud in the sub only.
I only hear the thud from channel three, not channel one.
Pro Tools (9) is not booted at the time.
When Pro Tools is booted, changing the volume does not change the volume of the low pulse/thud, it’s constant.

The C|24 seems to operate normally, nothing unexpected.
If I power down the C|24, I no longer hear the pulse/thud.

My guess is that it is the power supply, but would like to hear from anyone who has had similar issues or can suggest any trouble shooting I haven’t thought of.

Thanks
__________________

Pro Tools 9.0.5 | HD3 PCIe | 192 i/o | C|24
Mac Pro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore | 16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141

Pro Tools 9.0.6 | HD3 PCIx | Apogee Rosetta 200 | Magma PE6R4-I
MacPro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore |16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2014, 09:29 AM
Willard Willard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rawlinson End
Posts: 139
Default Re: C|24 Diagnose Problem of Low Thud Through Sub Output Channel 3 Only

I wrote to Skynet (makers of the PSU) and asked them if this sounded familiar. They said it did not, but they would diagnose my PSU for a $50 fee. That wouldn't be a problem if I was at all confident I'm heading in the right direction. Don't want to be without the C|24 if I can at all avoid it.
__________________

Pro Tools 9.0.5 | HD3 PCIe | 192 i/o | C|24
Mac Pro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore | 16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141

Pro Tools 9.0.6 | HD3 PCIx | Apogee Rosetta 200 | Magma PE6R4-I
MacPro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore |16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2014, 11:28 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: C|24 Diagnose Problem of Low Thud Through Sub Output Channel 3 Only

power supply I would expect to hear it in all channels
how comfortable are you opening up your unit and looking/sniffing for a damaged part
I would look at the ch3 output buffer amp back tracking to the volume control section
also look at the PSU when you have it open
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2014, 03:52 PM
Willard Willard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rawlinson End
Posts: 139
Default Re: C|24 Diagnose Problem of Low Thud Through Sub Output Channel 3 Only

@ Craig F. Thanks for your thoughts. Essentially you're concurring with Skynet, which is helpful.

I'm very comfortable taking things apart, so I'll give that a go just to see if there's something obvious to the naked eye. I think this will likely result in my having to take it in somewhere here in LA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C|24 Diagnose Problem of Low Thud Through Sub Output Channel 3 Only Willard ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 06-06-2014 03:40 PM
32 Channel Input / 16 Channel Output Device(s)? tcstx Pro Tools 9 33 02-07-2011 03:04 PM
Help Diagnose set up 1240 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-04-2007 11:43 AM
ONE BIG THUD........... gplus ICON & C|24 1 06-08-2004 06:36 AM
Kick but not thud vogue Tips & Tricks 6 04-21-2004 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com