Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 04-08-2007, 09:15 PM

Default \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Macbook pro, 15", bought after sept. 2006
1GB ram
10.4.9 OSX (combo update)
MBOX2, Protools 7.1.3
Tannoy Reveals (active studio monitors)

This is my first post. Hopefully i've provided enough information and am abiding by forum rules/practices. I am somewhat new to the MAC and PRO TOOLS world.

PROBLEM: I typically like to use my studio monitors to listen to music (i.e. mbox 2 plugged into left usb port and studio monitors plugged into "mono out" ports). System preferences are set to use the digidesign mbox 2 for sound output. Occasionally an active program that happens to be open, will hang (i.e. get a spinning wheel just for that particular application) and force quiting does nothing (typical programs that i've seen crash: itunes, windows messenger, photobooth, firefox). I can still navigate through the OS but it usually starts a chain reaction of other programs crashing. Can only restart the computer by holding down the power button.

This can typically happen 2-3 times a day. Tend to notice it more when i leave the computer idle for a while. (P.S. I do have the display set to shut down after 20 minutes to save my monitor. I've read that i should set it to never shut down). I don't think i've had protools itself crash (but it may have. Just can't remember. This problem has been happening for a while). As you could imagine, its a little annoying when you have a session running. You go downstairs to eat, come back and programs start crashing.

WHAT I'VE TRIED (in no particular order):

General trouble shooting guide in the DUC
Apple Hardware test - everything checked out