Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2012, 09:10 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Workflow

Ive only switched over to software based recording with pro tools in the last year or so after having used outboard gear for many years.I also haven't done a lot because Ive been busy with other things but Im interested in finding out about peoples workflow because Im finding this way of creating music a bit tedious. I create electronic/house music.
I used to do all my sequencing on my MPC 2000xl which was great fun and completely different to what Im doing now because before the sequencing and recording process were separate. I would get lost in the creation of loops using the sequencer to string them all together etc and then once I finished I would record onto a multi tracker. The recording and mixing process was still tedious though.

Anyway now with protools the recording and sequencing are kind of together I guess. You create and record as you go as far as I know. I can't seem to get used to this process because you kind of aren't playing the music, well not in the same way. You play a bit then record it and another bit etc. so I don't feel like there is a flow and also I find it difficult to visualise what it is I am trying to achieve and my tracks end up all messy and then I get sick of it all and delete it.

Is there a better way to do this? My setup consists of midi controller keyboard for software instruments, virus indigo2 synth, mpc2000xl and a roland sound module. Before the MPC would control everything else but now not sure should I be getting protools to control my external instruments?? Whats your process?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2012, 06:45 AM
mostapha mostapha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Workflow

You can use your MPC to control things. Just use it the way you always did and pretend PT is a tape machine.

That might make the transition easier. If you want, you can also record MIDI from the MPC into PT for later editing if you decide you like doing it that way.

Alternatively, you could use something like Maschine or the MPC Renaissance (when it actually comes out)…both of which are software/controllers that give you a workflow more like you're used to with 16 stereo channels into PT and MIDI output to control other synths (whether soft or hard).

Personally, I use Maschine that way. Maschine plays samples and either outputs MIDI to soft synths hosted in PT or hosts synths itself and outputs audio to separate audio tracks in PT. Working that way makes the most sense to me, and it seems like doing something similar might be for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2012, 07:28 AM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Workflow

i recommend sticking with sequencing/arranging etc in the MPC!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2012, 02:37 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Workflow

Id say one of the greatest things about moving into the box (Using Pro Tools) is that you can still use your MIDI sequencers and controllers to not only play and record the midi (that can be edited in pro Tools and altered to your liking) but also as samplers (playing back the sounds from the machine...

As before you would have to have everything perfectly programmed and then you could record the multitrack audio back... its EVEN easier now as you can play (say using your external Midi sequencer/sampler) the MIDI while recording it into pro tools and just loop the midi back out afterwards to trigger the external device to play the same thing you just triggered... the upside is that all you have to do now is adjust the midi in PT and the sampler will playback the adjusted midi.. shorten a note ad a note, change the pitch of a note, change the entire sound in the external sequencer while PT is playing back the midi to trigger it...

It is an endless amount of opportunity and like I said you can still use your external stuff... just need a MIDI I/O or MIDI to USB device to do it...

I use an external MIDI controller (Basically a keyboard) to record midi into pro tools and trigger Virtual Insrtuments (Basically digital versions of synths that you can use inside Pro Tools), I can assign the knobs and faders to any midi perameter I want in my Virtual Instrument... say I want to adjust the "cut off" and record the movements.. you can "arm" the "cut off" for automation in your Virtual Instrument and put the track in "Write" so it writes the automation movement... play the session back and adjust my "cut off" know using my external synth in real time.... then by placing the track in "Read" it will now playback all the cutoff changes I made.... best part... you dont like it.. just redo it or write automation over the existing... Its endless as far as what you can do...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2012, 02:45 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Workflow

This will help with the basic MIDI Input/output setup:

http://www.showmeprotools.com/using-...ith-pro-tools/

Also this is setting up your external MIDI controllers...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wOgvU0oG5M

These arent the best videos but can help get you up and running in an easier fashion....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 12:24 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,006
Default Re: Workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Drake View Post
i recommend sticking with sequencing/arranging etc in the MPC!
This! ^^^
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2012, 10:01 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Re: Workflow

Thanks for all your advise everyone.
I need some advise with my midi setup.

Please see the image for my current setup

Midi setup

As you can see I currently use my mpc to sequence keyboard1 and the synth. I also have a controller for plug in instruments within pro tools.
I have a fireface uc interface which has 2 midi ins and 2 outs which Im not using so far.


I want to be able to control protools with the mpc so when I hit record on the mpc, protools also starts so that I can hear the drum loops etc i have on tracks in protools while Im sequencing external gear also just so that I can sync up my external gear instead of having to quantise after etc. I know I have to go mpc midi in to interface out but as you can see i don't have an in available on the mpc. Is there another configuration I can use or perhaps I need a midi patch bay to do this?
Im so confused by all this, Id really appreciate some advise on a different way to set it up so I can do what I need to do. cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workflow: Creating Film score music (template/setup/workflow) jhonny.eriksson Tips & Tricks 5 03-03-2015 10:08 AM
3D Workflow weso33 Post - Surround - Video 5 04-14-2011 06:43 AM
MXF Workflow Help! legasafe Post - Surround - Video 2 02-25-2011 06:40 AM
Workflow! kje Tips & Tricks 11 06-26-2010 08:15 PM
workflow sjon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-18-2004 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com