Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2006, 12:07 PM
Ceam Ceam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 10
Default Midi regions/notes question

Hello,

When you turn the midi notes into midi regions can you split a region and then move and copy the region? When I attempt to do this with overlapping notes not all the notes follow the region. Only notes that are inside the region are able to be copied or pasted. When I split a region it looks like it split a midi note, when I loop playback everything works as it should, but when I move the region not all notes are selected. Basically can you cut/split a midi note. I know you can do this in Logic with the scissor tool, is there anyway to do this in PT. I know you can use the trim start, trim end commands, but that seems like a workaround. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2006, 12:44 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Midi regions/notes question

Quote:
When you turn the midi notes into midi regions can you split a region and then move and copy the region?
Yes. The regions include any MIDI notes whose start times begin within the region boundaries.

Details about MIDI region view behavior are covered starting on Page 229 of the Reference Guide
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi regions and deleting notes Shatzer Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 22 10-25-2011 01:26 AM
Midi Notes with X's? Probably a Dumb Question... Fitztacular XXX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-17-2010 02:54 PM
Disappearing MIDI notes in regions???? MdotCash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-28-2009 12:47 PM
Question about midi notes and DFH Superior Mrjcm800 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-17-2006 08:31 AM
Question about keys not playing notes on Midi keyboard... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-29-2001 06:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com