Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2003, 02:06 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

In the Operations menu.. look at the Scroll Options.. and also look at any scroll options in the Prefs. (Setups->Prefs...)

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2003, 02:18 PM
Severe Severe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 531
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Considering how long it looks like capt. has been a member here, you just made his day Rail.

This is a feature I cant imagine living without.


Best of luck.
__________________
Mac Pro & G4 / PT's on 10.5.2 & 9.2.2 / HD & 001 / 7.4 & LE 6.4 32T Beta
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2003, 03:14 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,939
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Captain, if you are thinking about the scrolling where the "playhead" stays in the middle of the screen all the time and the waveform slides by, PT doesn’t have it.

"Autoscrolling" in the menu means automatic "page turning".

And there are no scrolling options in PT prefs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2003, 03:59 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Quote:
Originally posted by Ben Jenssen:
And there are no scrolling options in PT prefs.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I consider "Timeline insertion follows playback" a scrolling option.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2003, 04:00 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Quote:
Originally posted by Ben Jenssen:
Captain, if you are thinking about the scrolling where the "playhead" stays in the middle of the screen all the time and the waveform slides by, PT doesn’t have it.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Actually PT does... LE doesn't.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2003, 11:07 PM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 205
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Quote:
Originally posted by Ben Jenssen:
Captain, if you are thinking about the scrolling where the "playhead" stays in the middle of the screen all the time and the waveform slides by, PT doesn’t have it.

"Autoscrolling" in the menu means automatic "page turning".

And there are no scrolling options in PT prefs.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">No, I wasn't referring to the playhead staying in the middle and the waveforms sliding by, I was refering to "page turning"....

Page scrolling during playback in the Operations Menu seems to be performing the same function as the "walking man" on Logic....I don't quite understand the "timeline insertion" function in the setup operations menu...I checked it and it doesnt seem to change anything....

One odd thing I did notice...

If you zoom your waveform to display 4 measures in your edit window, autoscrolling works fine..
If you zoom your wavefrom to display 3 measures
in your edit window, autoscrolling works fine...
If you zoom your waveform to display 2 measures in your edit window, autoscrolling ceases to function...

thanks for all the help, though..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2003, 11:10 PM
fenris fenris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 344
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Quote:
Fairly new to PT
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">member #7714 [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2003, 11:24 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Timeline insertion follows playback:

When you start playback and stop - with this not enabled.. playback will begin at the same point the next time you hit play. If you have the scroll options enabled, the screen will scroll/page to the cursor location. With it enabled.. when you hit stop the cursor remains where you stopped playback.. next time you hit play.. it starts where it left off.

Scrolling at high zoom levels

All DAWs only calculate overviews (waveforms) for every 256 samples.. so when you zoom far in.. it actually has to rebuild the waveform from the data in the soundfile.. If the app was to redraw/recalculate the waveform while in playback while zoomed in that far.. it would overtax the system.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2003, 11:27 PM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 205
Default Re: Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Quote:
Originally posted by fenris:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Fairly new to PT
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">member #7714 [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] <hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Like I said, I've been a Logic user for awhile, but became a member of the Digi board to take advantage of all the other great recording info available here....

I got an Mbox about 6 months ago, used it with Logic, and now for the last 3 months or so have really tried to get a handle on the Ptools software....I'd like to limit myself to one platform eventually, so I'd like to learn enough about PT to make an intelligent decision one way or another...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2003, 12:19 AM
captain54 captain54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, Il 60805
Posts: 205
Default Logic "walking man" feature possible in Pt LE??

Fairly new to PT after having used Logic for a while.....

there is a real handy feature in Logic that is activated by highlighting the "walking man" button, whereas your sequence scrolls along in the arrange window as you are either playing back or recording...so no matter how large or small your zoom is, the arrange window will contain the precise location of your sequence as it is playing...

forgive my ignorance, but I have searched and found nothing like this feature in PTools...the only way I am able to get a view of my sequence as it is advancing is by zooming out for the overall big picture...

can anyone enlighten me on this??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
Feature Request: Assignable "Midi faders" Xill Artist Series 4 10-29-2011 11:15 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Pro Tools 8 MIDI feature : "Retrospective Record" and arpeggios ? original General Discussion 2 10-07-2008 12:57 PM
Feature Request: "Show Markers" in Big Counter Display s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-21-2001 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com