Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2018, 10:02 PM
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
Default What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

What is the latest OS X that Avid has certified. What about the Mojave OS X? Will Mojave be qualified when it is available. If not how long will that typically take?
Thanks
__________________
IMAC Intel i7 512 SSD 32gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2019.5
MAC OSX Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2018, 12:12 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,678
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

First question's answer is
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
That gets updated when Avid approves more.

Your other questions have no answer or comment.
Avid does not talk about or release that info until they are ready to approve a version (and they update the list above, when they do.) Anyone else who gives you an "answer" is just guessing.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2018, 05:46 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,073
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

Also of importance make sure your video card works with Metal as you'll need that for Mojave.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2018, 09:56 PM
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

What is Metal? What does it have to do with the video card?
__________________
IMAC Intel i7 512 SSD 32gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2019.5
MAC OSX Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2018, 10:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,973
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=macOS+metal

(third link down tells you all you need)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2018, 06:42 AM
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

Thanks. It seems Metal is in 10.13.6 so there is nothing to do except wait for mojave. How many will be taking the mojave plunge when it arrives? How long will some wait?
__________________
IMAC Intel i7 512 SSD 32gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2019.5
MAC OSX Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2018, 08:21 AM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 516
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

Long time. I am very pleased with the latest PT and OS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:31 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,073
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mspin View Post
Thanks. It seems Metal is in 10.13.6 so there is nothing to do except wait for mojave. How many will be taking the mojave plunge when it arrives? How long will some wait?
High Sierra does not require a Metal compatible card - it still also uses Open GL. Mojave requires a Metal compatible card.


That being said even if I had a Metal compatible video card I'd wait until Avid has run it's compatibility tests and says it's okay. Remember that those that live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2018, 01:59 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Default Re: What is the latest OSX Avid has qualified?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That being said even if I had a Metal compatible video card I'd wait until Avid has run it's compatibility tests and says it's okay. Remember that those that live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.
yeah what he said, I'm with him
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.5 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.5-21.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Qualified PC??? Doctor Bang Pro Tools 11 4 10-29-2013 10:37 AM
PT9 Avid Qualified PCs yarrick19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-05-2010 07:56 AM
What is an Avid-qualified Mac? TylerW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-24-2010 07:41 AM
The Latest Models Of Macbook Can't Qualified With LE 7.3? TongWunFung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-19-2008 02:27 PM
Latest Panther version qualified for Mbox on 6.4 ? auxsend1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-08-2004 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com