Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2017, 01:33 PM
blinder blinder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

i think i screwed this up.

I had PT 12.4, perpetual license i got in 2015. Everything was working perfectly.

Then today I decide it's time to upgrade, so i purchase the $99/year subscription/upgrade program, and my Application Manager let me download the updated PT (12.8.2).

But now, when launching PT, the iLok activation comes up and tells me there are no active licenses. my iLok License Manager shows my Pro Tools Plan as active

I wish this wasn't ridiculously complicated, but I'm not sure what to do next. I submitted a support ticket, but it's been all day and nothing.

Have i just roped myself into buying PT again?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2017, 08:12 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

If you let your subscription lapse, your perpetual license might not be able to run 12.8. However, you should be able to reinstall 12.4.

If you did not let your subscription lapse, then you could have "renewed" for $99 and something is chop-sueyed: there is both a subscription for updates as well as a subscription for support and plug-ins (each one is $99), so it is possible to get the wrong one.

Once your subscription lapses, you have to "reinstate" -- which is $299 (for vanilla, HD is $999). Or, you can keep using whichever version was active when your subscription expired.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2017, 09:31 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

I'm in exactly the same boat.

I could update from PT9 to PT12.4 with a $99 one year license, so surely I can do the same from 12.4 to 12.8?

Can someone from Avid please chime in here?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PT Error 1.jpg (56.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg PT Error 2.jpg (25.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2017, 04:41 AM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

I must add too, that after purchasing the new subscription, the Application Manager allowed me to download and install 12.8.2 ........ It just won't authorise!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:43 AM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

Noone can help me?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2017, 05:47 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,539
Default Re: PT 12.4 to 12.8 upgrade no active license

Well you bought the wrong thing. The reinstall is $299 so if you had a lapsed plan and only paid $99 you will have to buy an ASC and contact Avid to get the money back and buy the right product.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD Plan license expired on an active Pro Tools HD Upgrade and Support Plan zoundsabar Licensing & Accounts 1 11-15-2016 11:59 PM
Fairchild 670 license active but not working brucekaphan Pro Tools 11 9 09-16-2015 12:40 AM
Pro Tools HD Plan license expired on an active Pro Tools HD Upgrade and Support Plan Licensing & Accounts 0 12-31-1969 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com