Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2008, 05:36 AM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

What's the best expansion chassis for a Mac Pro? Magma PE6R4? Bit confused as I need a PCIe to PCIe chassis to expand HD3 to HD5.

Thanks for any input


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2008, 06:28 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,469
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

Quote:
What's the best expansion chassis for a Mac Pro? Magma PE6R4? Bit confused as I need a PCIe to PCIe chassis to expand HD3 to HD5.

Thanks for any input



Hi,

The PE6R4 is obviously no good for you as its for PCI.

This one is the closest...

http://www.magma.com/products/pciexp...ox7/index.html

ExpressBox7 can accommodate up to 7 PCI Express cards with a MacPro providing users with the capability to achieve full track counts in this configuration.
* Digidesign qualification pending

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:26 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

While we're on the subject, we have a client that needs an HD7, which this would take care of.
2 questions:

Can you connect a PCIe computer with a PCIe host card to a PCI-X chassis using PCI-X Accel cards?

Can you use a second Core card as an Accel card, in addition to other Accel cards for extra DSP?

Thanks,
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2008, 01:33 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,469
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

Quote:

Can you connect a PCIe computer with a PCIe host card to a PCI-X chassis using PCI-X Accel cards?

Can you use a second Core card as an Accel card, in addition to other Accel cards for extra DSP?

Thanks,
First question: Yes, that is what the Magma PE6r4 is made to do, connect a PCIe computer to a chassis housing PCIx cards. you will have a max of HD 6, core card and any combination of 5 accel or process cards.

Second question: yes i believe you can use a core card as an accel process card! (But why would you use a $8000 card to do what a $3000 card can do!!)

I think the only way to get above HD6 is to use PCIe cards and use the Magma express7 chassis, PCIe cumputer to PCIe chassis/cards. though not sure if this chassis has been qualified by Digi yet. But don't quote me as there might be an older chassis that supports more than 6 cards, so i guess it depends on your computer/Mac OS/PCI card type etc.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2008, 04:56 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?


PCIe is not supported beyond a 3 card system, no PCIe chassis is currently supported

PCI/PCI-X core cards do not have Accel chips, only PCIe core's have Accel chips

white paper PCI vs. PCIe
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:42 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

So you can't have more than an HD3 using PCIe cards??
What do people do in a case like ours, where
the user wants a PCI-e computer with an expansion chassis?
I personally think a PCI-X G5 with 6-7 Accel cards
is a mighty powerful system, but...
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2008, 08:41 PM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 712
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

MacPro + Magma Chassis + PCI HD system. Runs great, goes up to 6 cards and mentioned. This is my setup. PCI systeems are available new still for this exact reason - users who need an expanded system. Personally I wouldn't go back to a G5 if you paid me too ...

Ainslie
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
2013 MacPro 6 x 3.5 32GB OS10.14.4 HDX2 Sonnet Chassis, PT2019.5. Macbook 2018 Watch this to follow mobile mix studio build coming: https://youtu.be/cbqMTjCVj9I
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:42 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

Quote:
MacPro + Magma Chassis + PCI HD system. Runs great, goes up to 6 cards and mentioned. This is my setup. PCI systeems are available new still for this exact reason - users who need an expanded system. Personally I wouldn't go back to a G5 if you paid me too ...

Ainslie
Not really sure what you're saying here. Mac Pro is PCI-e.
Are you running a PCI-e expansion chassis or a PCI-X expansion with those 6 cards??
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:56 AM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 209
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

I think the Magma website makes things pretty clear...
But yes, they make chassis' that have PCI slots but can plug into a PCI-e computer using a specific PCI-e "host card".

I believe that the SBS unit is also an option
http://www.gefanucembedded.com/products/774

- rob
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2008, 12:58 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,469
Default Re: Expansion Chassis for Mac Pro?

Quote:
I think the Magma website makes things pretty clear...
But yes, they make chassis' that have PCI slots but can plug into a PCI-e computer using a specific PCI-e "host card".

I believe that the SBS unit is also an option
http://www.gefanucembedded.com/products/774

- rob
Hi,

This one the PE6R4 seems the best bet. has the best latency of all the chassis's so far and it seems to be tested with pro tools.....

http://www.magma.com/products/pci/PE6R4/index.html

For Digidesign Pro Tools:

If you’re looking to build the most powerful Pro Tools|HD® system or want to move your existing Pro Tools|HD for PCI system to a host computer with PCIe (PCI Express) slots, the Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis allows you to do both. This 4U rackmountable system offers six available PCI-X (PCI Extended) slots and comes with a PCIe host interface card, enabling you to expand the capabilities of a PCIe-based computer to accommodate a PCI-based Pro Tools|HD system (PCI-X supports PCI cards).


4U rack-mount all steel enclosure

PCIe host interface card (x4)

Six PCI-X slots (64-bit/66 MHz)

Fan provides optimal cooling within the ventilated enclosure

Two 1-meter, high-speed InfiniBand cables and power supply included

Supports Apple’s Mac Pro; Windows support coming soon
The Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis sports an all steel, ventilated enclosure and comes with a PCIe host interface card, high-speed InfiniBand cables, and power supply. The 4U enclosure features six easy-to-access PCI-X slots that can be used to accommodate up to six Pro Tools® PCI-based HD Core, HD Accel, and HD Process cards. And thanks to the internal fan, your cards will stay nice and cool — even when your sessions heat up.

To use the Magma chassis, you will need Pro Tools HD 7.3.1cs1 software or higher (not included). If you have Pro Tools HD 7.3.x software, download and install the Pro Tools HD 7.3.1cs1 software update to use with the Magma chassis.
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expansion Chassis VS 64 Bit Chassis Latency Touchwood Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-09-2006 05:03 PM
Digidesign Expansion|HD Expansion Chassis work ok? Will Russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-25-2006 02:19 PM
PCI Expansion Chassis Bermaster Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 06-15-2003 09:18 PM
usb in expansion chassis? kal Tips & Tricks 5 10-24-2000 12:13 AM
expansion chassis Mitch Griffin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-11-1999 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com