Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-01-2017, 01:21 PM
hanksinclair hanksinclair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: City
Posts: 57
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Thank you very much for your support, Eddie!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-05-2017, 12:19 AM
oortone oortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 25
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Note: This is unsupported by Avid and any damage to your unit is your responsibility.

To find out whether the encoder or the IC is the issue, with the unit running touch one of the larger Encoder solder mounts (the 2 either side, not the smaller pair or 3 at the top and bottom of the picture above).
If the touch works its the encoder that's faulty, if not its the IC.

The Encoder is an Alps EC11E24144 the IC an Atmel QT113B
Hello, this is a great help!
I have the older model MC Mix. I guess the same or equivalent encoders are used in that one too?

Anyway, I find the first four letters from the part number in Alps catalogue but I can't find an exact match. Any idea if there's an equivalent in this listing?
http://www.alps.com/prod/info/E/HTML...EC11_list.html

Apart from dimensions, is there some other crucial parameter that has to be the same on a replacement?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-07-2017, 12:06 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,953
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Its 24 pulses per 360 per phase but there are many different subtleties. I suspect these are special versions for Avid. You would have to contact Mouser or someone like that to see if they can get them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2017, 10:52 AM
oortone oortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 25
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Its 24 pulses per 360 per phase but there are many different subtleties. I suspect these are special versions for Avid. You would have to contact Mouser or someone like that to see if they can get them.
I guess if I get dimensions about right, and pulses per rotation I would be fine. The rest should be more or less unimportant?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-11-2017, 11:37 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,953
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

This link was posted on FB https://www.digikey.se/product-detai...024-ND/4499668 (Not by me or Avid though but it looks Ok)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-28-2017, 04:15 AM
oortone oortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 25
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-16-2017, 10:42 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
This link was posted on FB https://www.digikey.se/product-detai...024-ND/4499668 (Not by me or Avid though but it looks Ok)
I just bought a brand new Artist Mix. None of the rotary encoders work well. They are all a jerky mess - I might turn one several turns and the value won't change, or I might give it a tiny nudge and the value changes drastically. I have the latest firmware. What else can be done?
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-16-2017, 11:21 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,953
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismeraz View Post
I just bought a brand new Artist Mix. None of the rotary encoders work well. They are all a jerky mess - I might turn one several turns and the value won't change, or I might give it a tiny nudge and the value changes drastically. I have the latest firmware. What else can be done?
That doesn't sound right at all, just to confirm you are running EuControl 3.7 and PT12 ? Do the faders work OK ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-16-2017, 11:49 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Hi Eddie,

I am using EuCon 3.7 and PT 12.7. The faders work fine, except they have a bit of spring back, so if I push a fader up to 6.0 for example, when I let go it will spring back down to 5.8 or 5.9.

Thanks for your help Eddie.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-16-2017, 11:55 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,953
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Alos is this with all controls (pan, sends etc.) ? A video showing this would help too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control Encoders - Can we make them linear? jvining Artist Series 4 10-11-2014 01:54 PM
Rotary Encoders randomly going into write colinweeks ICON & C|24 4 05-17-2009 07:59 PM
Are the rotary encoders touch-sensitive... Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 2 07-31-2008 08:53 AM
Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders. mixboy bob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-08-2006 04:19 PM
Difference between motion sensitive and touch sensitive faders? bp78 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-03-2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com