Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2014, 07:43 PM
gking8189 gking8189 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2
Default Superior Drummer 2 and Pro Tools 11

Hello,

I've recently purchased Toontrack's Superior Drummer 2 and I'm having problems trying to get it to work with Pro Tools 11. I've heard that it was incompatible with PT11 in the past, but Toontrack's 2.3.2 update for Superior fixed that problem. I've installed Superior fully and ran the most recent update to 2.4, but PT11 refuses to recognize it. When I add a new stereo instrument track and try to insert Superior, it simply does not appear under instruments.

When I repeat the process in Pro Tools 10, I'm able to open Superior but it says that the version is 2.3.1. This would mean that it is before the update which gives Superior compatibility with Pro Tools 11, which would explain why it is not appearing in PT11. I guess that would mean that the update hasn't worked; I wonder why, though? Does anyone have any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong here?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2014, 07:59 PM
gking8189 gking8189 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Superior Drummer 2 and Pro Tools 11

Nevermind, I've actually found the answer on the Toontrack forums!

Apparently if you try to update Superior to 2.4 from anything before 2.3.2, the updater does not properly install the plugin file for Pro Tools. Instead, I've uninstalled Superior from my Add/Remove programs list and installed using the 2.4 update alone which gave me the solution.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2014, 11:47 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Superior Drummer 2 and Pro Tools 11

Before you get too carried away, don't forget to read the sticky thread about the delay compensation bug with multi out VIs.

It will become very relevant to you if you start sending sounds out of separate outputs from Superior Drummer.

As I and a number of others show in that thread, there are several variations of a workaround that does actually work ... you just need to know what the problem is, and how to work around it!
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools v-drums and superior drummer 2.0 help brorow Windows 11 05-09-2014 11:13 PM
Superior drummer 64 bit in pro tools 9 Raoul23 The Drum Room 3 07-20-2011 12:00 AM
SUPERIOR DRUMMER 2.0 in PRO TOOLS 9 Leonidas666 macOS 2 05-25-2011 02:40 PM
Superior Drummer, TD12 and Pro Tools.... JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-08-2009 07:06 AM
Superior Drummer + Pro Tools Mike1983 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-17-2009 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com