Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2003, 07:39 AM
Graeme Oxby Graeme Oxby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default recording levels

Hi folks

can you tell me if by inserting a plug in (software) compressor on a channel during recording actually records that audio compressed or is it just compressed on playback.

IE I want to max amount of signal to noise without peaking and without going through an external hardwrare device.

Thanks

Graeme [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
There's no "I" in "Team". But there is a "me" if you look hard enough.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2003, 07:54 AM
j old school j old school is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 567
Default Re: recording levels

If you have a plugin on the actual audio track, than you are not recording the compression, you are compressing the output signal of that track. If you want to do that, route the input to an aux track, and add the plugin to the aux track. Then bus the aux track to an audio track. That way, the signal reaching the audio track's input will be compressed, and recorded that way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2003, 11:27 AM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: recording levels

I've actually done it that way, but I found that I gain no real benefit because it's still post-converter.

Your BEST solution is to add compression before the converter. That way you get the hotter signal and the fatness of the analog compressor.
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2003, 11:33 AM
j old school j old school is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 567
Default Re: recording levels

That does makes sense - I have an outboard compressor in between pre and 001, so I never had to try it all within protools. I don't think it can be done without outboard gear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2003, 04:02 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: recording levels

Hi Jonah-
You can choose how much Normalizing you'd like.
My advise is to make sure you leave room to peak well below zero for tracks that will have additional processing.
The only time I Norm to zero is on a final master ready to burn.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2003, 05:06 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: recording levels

Hi JMS
I geuss that's what I meant but didn't make it too clear. To clarify, I record everything and when I'm in the final mix, I normalize before I compress. Thanks for pointing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2003, 06:14 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: recording levels

Hi again Jonah-
We're on the same page.
I just wanted to point out for Graeme that you can set Normal so it peaks at any point you'd like below zero.
Can come in handy tweaking levels for individual tracks.
Good luck-
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2003, 08:31 PM
msenger69 msenger69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 16
Default Re: recording levels

Silly question here, but is there a little headroom between when the meters go red and the sound actually distorts? If so, how much? Thanks!
--Mark
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2003, 09:03 PM
Mark Staples Mark Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 223
Default Re: recording levels

Meters go red, you're in distortion. Actually, you should leave at least .3db of headroom and never go to zero.
__________________
Mark Staples
Hearts of Fire Productions
email: mark@heartsoffireproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2003, 10:21 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: recording levels

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Staples:
Meters go red, you're in distortion. Actually, you should leave at least .3db of headroom and never go to zero.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Actually, the red meter doesn't literally mean "distortion", nor does it mean "clipping". What the red indicates in PT is that a certain number of consecutive samples were full scale. If I remember correctly, it's 3 full scale samples in a row will cause the red indicator. That is most likely a clipped waveform, and most likely distorted since true flat-top signals are rare in nature (or the studio). But it is not absolutely, for sure, clipped or distorted just because 3 consecutive samples happen to be full scale.

But, even still, it's a bad thing to see the red ever in a digital audio recording system.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2019.10 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Levels in a DAW Kenny Gioia General Discussion 2 08-10-2013 10:40 AM
Best Recording Levels spaceman Tips & Tricks 104 11-26-2011 07:53 PM
Recording Levels ahanslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-15-2010 01:36 AM
Recording levels MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 31 05-31-2004 08:48 PM
Recording levels nickair Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-23-2000 11:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com