Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 09-14-2018, 02:19 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
That IS interesting. Do you mean that just in general - that RX provides more tools to actually correct noise issues? Or do you find it better in a general DX bus mix situation where a broadband noise reduction is just strapped over some busses or tracks?
In all fairness, I may not be comparing like for like. I've used real time Cedar units in studios for many years, and RX4 onwards has rung rings round those, but there I'm thinking of their offline processes not Dialogue De-noise, so it may not be an entirely fair comparison. I do find the RX algorithm exceptionally good, and while any improvements are always welcome it wouldn't be a top priority to me. One trick I've taken to doing is that I often find with field recordings the unwanted noise is in the lower register, and if I sample just this for reference I can get really quite aggressive with it - most of the tell-tale NR artefacts get noticeable in the mids and highs. I know you can balance with some of the real time units, but you can always be more forensic with offline.

Dialogue Isolate - marvel that it is - even in this incarnation has some way to go. It's so good on some material, but still hit and miss.

P_J - similar thoughts here to yours. Dialogue De-Reverb is the real breakthrough of this release for me.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-14-2018, 05:37 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,030
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marenta View Post
Hey, yes both in stand alone and plug-in mode. No presets - all empty ?!
I had my default presets blown out with an Izotope update a while back. Support emailed me a file to drop into the Izotope library folder (on Mac).
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:36 AM
Marenta Marenta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 26
Default iZotope RX7 officially announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim R. View Post
I had my default presets blown out with an Izotope update a while back. Support emailed me a file to drop into the Izotope library folder (on Mac).


Thx. I have now solved the problem. The presets did install in another location on my Mac. Don’t really know why, but it worked when I put them back were they belong ;-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-14-2018, 12:54 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marenta View Post
Thx. I have now solved the problem. The presets did install in another location on my Mac. Don’t really know why, but it worked when I put them back were they belong ;-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Most often when things like this happens it's due to installing the plugin in a place other than where the installer wants to put it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-16-2018, 04:21 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 720
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

For me the multi-channel support was totally worth it. I upgraded from RX5 Advanced to the post production 3 bundle. It cost me $339.00 at Audiodeluxe (promo summer 15% off).

Jumping from RX5 to RX7 seems like a really decent upgrade.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:31 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 824
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Heads up: There's a nasty bug in the RX7 advanced AudioSuite porting of Dialog Isolate, De-Rustle and Music Rebalance, that has omitted the "Preview" button from the GUI. All legacy modules from RX6 to now RX7 have the "Preview" as per usual and indeed it exists in the RX7 Connect App. In other words you're flying blind over on the AS side trying to use these modules. I use DX ISO a bunch and looked forward to the batch processing ability of having it in the AS. My workaround is to test a clip over in the App and then apply those settings to the AS module. It works and though it's a bug it's still a time saver since you can batch process a scene or sequence of clips.

We also found the Auth server seems to have been down over the weekend, though my colleague who was upgrading his PP suite 3 was able to run the demo trial. Not the most elegant update rollout from IZO and surprising since I've never seen this sloppiness from them before...sorry have to call it what it is. How do you miss the "preview" button in the GUI ??... and how do you not have an IT guy tending your Auth server over the release weekend ??

Waiting for fixes...tap, tap, tap
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:37 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 824
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

FYI I'm on a MacPro running the latest Mac OS Hi Sierra and PT Ultimate.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-16-2018, 11:48 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Yes, I miss the preview on Isolate. For now - render / undo = preview. Not sure if the omissiom is by design for some reason, hope not.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-17-2018, 04:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Yes, I miss the preview on Isolate. For now - render / undo = preview. Not sure if the omissiom is by design for some reason, hope not.
By design from reading the online help documentation on the iZotope site. Look at the bottom of each page for the module and you'll see it. It's weird that the normal plugin version has it but no AS - wonder why?

Didn't both Isolate and derustle in rx6 adv have a compare button? That help documentation said it did with no mention of an exception for AudioSuite usage. I only have 6 vanilla.

Posted about this in this thread over on Gearslutz: https://www.gearslutz.com/board/new-...musicians.html
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-17-2018, 10:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,169
Default Re: iZotope RX7 officially announced

Just sent an email inquiry to iZotope about the missing preview buttons. Be interesting what kind of answer I get and how quick will I get it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope RX Loudness and Izotope Insight: Worth the purchase? Piano Pete General Discussion 3 01-04-2017 09:52 PM
Izotope RX3 Officially Announced nst7 AAX Plug-ins 0 08-06-2013 09:59 PM
Komplete 8/Kontakt 5, plus more officially announced! nst7 Virtual Instruments 3 08-19-2011 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com