Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2018, 02:28 PM
veinticinco veinticinco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Posts: 5
Default PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Hello Everybody

This post is just to share my positive experience with the latest update of Mojave (as of 9-13-2018) with Pro Tools 2018.7

Like many around here, after the High Sierra 10.13.4 update PT became very glitchy. 8 out of 10 sessions I would try to open, immediately crashed the "deactivating outputs" portion of the process. So EVERY SINGLE TIME I would have to create a new empty session, import the session data from the affected session and it would work. But once I closed and tried to open it back up it would crash. So rinse and repeat.
After extensive researching and reseting my IO config a million times a million ways I cracked.
Sure I could go back to Sierra, but I also need Logic Pro X and that only works on the latest and greatest.

I signed up to the Mojave beta program and set it up on a spare drive of course expecting the worst.

My setup is an iMac 21.5 Late 2013, 2.7ghz Core i5 with SSD and 16g RAM, with an MBOX Pro gen3 (I know, pretty old but works great, and Mac computers here in Colombia are incredibly expensive!)

I work on post production and music for TV, and my workflow requires Izotope RX suite and waves plugins

As of now my problems have disappeared, the sessions run very smooth, video playback is not choppy anymore, I can open and close sessions with ease, and even the brand new purchase of iZotope RX7 runs without a hitch.
Eucontrol with Pro tools control on iPad runs perfect.
I've mixed and mastered 12 mini documentaries and it's just working like it did before the 10.13.4 mess.
And any of you use soundly for sound fx cataloging it works great too.

THINGS THAT DON'T WORK:
My Oxygen 49 Keyboard controller is recognized on Logic but PT is not seeing it..
Reason 10 does not start (UPDATE 9-14: Reason 10.1.2 Works! And detects the Oxygen 49)
And that's it!

Still I have my other partition with High Sierra just in case, but if any of you have had issues like mine I HIGHLY suggest the upgrade. I'm doing real work for real clients and now I can deliver instead of cursing the heavens for a solution to MacOS High Sierra.

P.S If you're gonna try it PLEASE do it in a spare drive or partition, you never know, mine is a great experience, but the variables are infinite.

Feel free to ask any questions and I'll try my best to test or answer
Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 4.14.22 PM (2).jpg
Views:	0
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	10872   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 4.14.22 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	10873  

Last edited by veinticinco; 09-14-2018 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2018, 05:03 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 860
Default Re: PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Thank you for sharing . Thats great to know, as I was looking at potentially buying a new iMac (when they release the 6core model this year hopefully) & that will no doubt come installed with Mojave..
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT HD 10.3.7, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.7, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.7, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.12.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.12.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:49 AM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Default Re: PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Dark mode + Pro Tools pics please!

PS: It's so sad that in 2018 we still need to treat Pro Tools + MacOS updates as life-and-death decisions...never to ne taken lightly...and with multiple contingencies in place, just in case.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | Mac Pro (2013) 6-Core | Sierra 10.12.6 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | MacBook Pro (2018) i5 | High Sierra 10.13.6
Film/TV Music Editor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2018, 05:13 PM
veinticinco veinticinco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Check it out, It seems dark mode is only available in 1st party Apple Software for now, so its up to Avid to turn PT dark in future updates.
Still, in my humble opinion, dark mode is a good idea but a little rough-looking right now, surely will get better.

And I completely agree that is very frustrating that every single update, big or minuscule, from either company means deep diving in uncharted waters always expecting the worse. And of course people can simply not update their OS for a very long time to prevent the hassle. But software like Logic Pro and Reason, in my case, need an updated OS constantly.

Hey moogboy and just out of curiosity, how is the Red 4pre working out for you? I'm about to pull the trigger on one, but a real world post-production-side-of-things opinion would be cool
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-09-14 at 7.10.49 PM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	10878  

Last edited by veinticinco; 09-14-2018 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2018, 03:57 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 430
Default Re: PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by veinticinco View Post
Check it out, It seems dark mode is only available in 1st party Apple Software for now, so its up to Avid to turn PT dark in future updates.
Still, in my humble opinion, dark mode is a good idea but a little rough-looking right now, surely will get better.
I like working in a dark environment so I absolutely can't wait for Mojoave's dark mode! I haven't tried any of the betas but nice to see PT and Mojave get along...

Quote:
Originally Posted by veinticinco View Post
And I completely agree that is very frustrating that every single update, big or minuscule, from either company means deep diving in uncharted waters always expecting the worse. And of course people can simply not update their OS for a very long time to prevent the hassle. But software like Logic Pro and Reason, in my case, need an updated OS constantly.
LPX seems to change minimum requirements with every update lately...for no apparent reason!
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2.4 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.13.6 / Pro Tools 2018.7
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2018, 08:42 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by veinticinco View Post
Hello Everybody

This post is just to share my positive experience with the latest update of Mojave (as of 9-13-2018) with Pro Tools 2018.7

Like many around here, after the High Sierra 10.13.4 update PT became very glitchy. 8 out of 10 sessions I would try to open, immediately crashed the "deactivating outputs" portion of the process. So EVERY SINGLE TIME I would have to create a new empty session, import the session data from the affected session and it would work. But once I closed and tried to open it back up it would crash. So rinse and repeat.
After extensive researching and reseting my IO config a million times a million ways I cracked.
Sure I could go back to Sierra, but I also need Logic Pro X and that only works on the latest and greatest.

Yes. I heard it was good and some people had the beta a few months ago running very well with no problems. They also said that the first High Sierra never even booted up and crashed, so this is encouraging.

G

I signed up to the Mojave beta program and set it up on a spare drive of course expecting the worst.

My setup is an iMac 21.5 Late 2013, 2.7ghz Core i5 with SSD and 16g RAM, with an MBOX Pro gen3 (I know, pretty old but works great, and Mac computers here in Colombia are incredibly expensive!)

I work on post production and music for TV, and my workflow requires Izotope RX suite and waves plugins

As of now my problems have disappeared, the sessions run very smooth, video playback is not choppy anymore, I can open and close sessions with ease, and even the brand new purchase of iZotope RX7 runs without a hitch.
Eucontrol with Pro tools control on iPad runs perfect.
I've mixed and mastered 12 mini documentaries and it's just working like it did before the 10.13.4 mess.
And any of you use soundly for sound fx cataloging it works great too.

THINGS THAT DON'T WORK:
My Oxygen 49 Keyboard controller is recognized on Logic but PT is not seeing it..
Reason 10 does not start (UPDATE 9-14: Reason 10.1.2 Works! And detects the Oxygen 49)
And that's it!

Still I have my other partition with High Sierra just in case, but if any of you have had issues like mine I HIGHLY suggest the upgrade. I'm doing real work for real clients and now I can deliver instead of cursing the heavens for a solution to MacOS High Sierra.

P.S If you're gonna try it PLEASE do it in a spare drive or partition, you never know, mine is a great experience, but the variables are infinite.

Feel free to ask any questions and I'll try my best to test or answer
Cheers!
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2018.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Sierra 10.12.6, Digital Performer 9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and macOS Mojave BillDog793 Pro Tools 2018 48 09-03-2018 04:25 PM
macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4 SigFriedChicken Pro Tools Software (Mac) 8 07-26-2018 02:39 AM
macOS 10.14 Mojave and “cheese grater” Mac Pros jsbach Pro Tools 2018 37 06-17-2018 01:50 AM
Weird UI glitches in 2018.3 on macOS 10.13.3 Chingy Pro Tools 2018 6 04-06-2018 05:17 AM
Sluggish Zoom in/out + scrub issues 2018.1 (MacOS 10.13.3) Hrmonik Pro Tools 2018 0 01-28-2018 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com