Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:07 AM
b1daly b1daly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 84
Default Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

Hi All,

I have developed a system to control Pro Tools plug-in parameters with an off-the-shelf MIDI control surface. It uses ControllerMate software, which is a cool macro building app. I've dubbed this the ProMIDIco system. (Just needed something!)

I have released a free tutorial comprised of a video, text, and example files. It is very indepth, so if you want to give this a try it has all the info you need to get started.

You need Pro Tools 11, MIDI control surface that has endless knobs (encoders) and ControllerMate software (I'm not affiliated, just a long time user).

At this time Pro Tools 10 is not well supported, though some users have come up with work arounds.

What this allows you to do is map the endless knobs to any parameter in a plug-in, and have very fine level control over it.

It requires some willingness to dig in and do some configuring to set it all up. If you are a mid-level MIDI programmer it will be no problem. I plan to start a page where people can post maps for specific plug-ins as well.

I developed this system because I was determined to have what I think should be a basic feature in Pro Tools 11: to map any plug-in parameter to a knob controller of the users choice.

In my studio I use Behringer BCR2000 because it has a lot of endless knobs, and is dirt cheap. I have a semi-permanent set of plug-in parameters mapped to specific knobs. So when I open a plug-in window, I can simply grab a knob and make adjustments. No paging or mode switching required!

There is literally no other way to do this with a small format control surface in Pro Tools 11. Both Novation's Automap and M-Audio's Hypercontrol do not work in PT11, and there is no indication that they ever will. That leaves the HUI based controllers, which are fine for basic fader levels and pan knobs, but virtually unusable for efficient parameters use. Avid's Artist series have a nice design, and I think are conceptually sound, but in practice in our studio the Eucon protocol has been to buggy to use. They are also don't have very many knobs. (The good old Mackie Control remains rock solid:)

At first I thought this was such a hack that no one else would be interested, but as I have been working with it I find that it actually does work! For the first time ever, I am using hardware knobs to control parameters in Pro Tools as part of my regular workflow.

I am hoping to get other like minded producers interested and to develop the system further.

This link has everything you need to get started:http://dnamusiclabs.com/harmonic-dis...rmate-tutorial
Here's some videos that introduce the ProMIDIco system. (note, it's not called that in the video, as I just made up this name yesterday

Feel free to hit me back with questions or comments. Brian

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rn1jzv9qeNw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkUosy4KY1Y
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2015, 01:41 PM
lydpik lydpik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 67
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

Can't believe this hasn't got more attention??
Turn your favorite SSL plugin into a real hardware channelstrip, like SoftTubes Console 1, but for a fraction of the price and without it's limitations. This is what the PT community has been waiting for to happened. It's here now, so go check it out!
__________________
Sorry for any bad grammar/spelling, I'm not from around here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2015, 03:47 AM
RiF RiF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

This is (almost) exactly what I am searching for! I completely agree to your core requirements in your linked article.
Now I need to find something like ControllerMate for Windows...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2015, 01:41 PM
tattootroy tattootroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: uk
Posts: 81
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

Cool I had to buy controlmate 2 years a go so my lil ones could use a ps3 controller to play mine-craft on a mac.

thanks for posting your findings
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2016, 05:33 PM
improvpwnd improvpwnd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

How is this going? Any further improvements? I am super interested in trying this out! Anything I should know not included in this thread before doing so? Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2018, 02:15 AM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 413
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

bump
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2018, 03:41 AM
Sir Hannes Sir Hannes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 176
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

for me it seems way to complicated to organize each plugin I am using by hand, parameter parameter parameter.

what I appreciate is there's no need for these MIDI monster.

well, the inventor of an easy solution might be the same hero who brings to us a pill against loosing hairs
__________________
MBP Late 2013 OSX Sierra
ProTools 12.5
EuControl 3.7
LogicPro9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2018, 06:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,463
Default Re: Control Plug-In Parameters with a MIDI control surface

My "easy solution" is a Novation Launchkey midi keyboard, which has 8 sliders and 8 knobs, plus 16 trigger buttons. It is easy enough to set up.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 01:51 AM
Using keyboard rotary pots as a MIDI control surface for plug-ins AndyMVP MIDI 3 05-19-2011 10:55 PM
Midi Control over Plug-in parameters help... breaktheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-11-2010 04:55 PM
Evolution U-Control midi control surface eddie v MIDI 0 03-22-2004 04:53 PM
control plug parameters via MIDI Slink General Discussion 0 05-17-2003 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com