Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-13-2012, 08:38 PM

Default Can I use my Eleven Rack to record drums?

Hey guys, I'm a newbie... and just looking to make a demo of the new material I am doing with my band. Obviously really for the level we are at, all the sounds I need to make I can do within PT and my 11R we just need to figure out the best way we can do drums. And as we gain more technically knowledge we will put more and more into our recording setup but you have to start somewhere, right?

Basically, I have an 11R, 2 SM58s, and a SM57. If needed we can purchase more equipment or different/more mics but I really want to get started as minimal as possible. I've been trying to do some research... do you think with these mics will do just for a basic sound?

IF there is a way to use the 11R as my interface that will save me a bunch of money and especially if we can use the mics we already have. Obviously this is a very, very budget setup - can it be done?

Thank you!
Old 01-13-2012, 09:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdude777 View Post
Hey guys, I'm a newbie... and just looking to make a demo of the new material I am doing with my band. Obviously really for the level we are at, all the sounds I need to make I can do within PT and my 11R we just need to figure out the best way we can do drums. And as we gain more technically knowledge we will put more and more into our recording setup but you have to start somewhere, right?

Basically, I have an 11R, 2 SM58s, and a SM57. If needed we can purchase more equipment or different/more mics but I really want to get started as minimal as possible. I've been trying to do some research... do you think with these mics will do just for a basic sound?