Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2011, 04:22 PM
minimoog71 minimoog71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 3
Default Can my iLok keep both licences for PT9 AND PT8?

Hi,

I'd like to crossgrade to PT9 for my MacBook, but I'd like to make sure I can keep on my old iLok authorization for the PT 8.0.4 version I'm using on my desktop (along with a Digi002).
I'm not planning to update the 10.5.8 I'm using on my desktop, that's why I have to use both, and I'd like to simply switch the authorization iLok from one system to another if I'm on the road.

Is it possible? Can I do it? Or crossgrading to PT9 will just update the 8.0.4 licence (basically screwing me..)??

Thank you in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2011, 05:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,019
Default Re: Can my iLok keep both licences for PT9 AND PT8?

PT8 LE doesn't need an iLok to run, it needs Digi/Avid hardware(and the authorization code). PT8 HD, does require iLok, and that authorization will be removed from your ilok account when you load in PT9. So if you have 8 HD, I would move the authorization to a spare iLok and load your new 9 authorization to its own. Even though the 8 asset will no longer be found in your iLok account, it will continue to work as long as that iLok doesn't get lost or broken.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2011, 06:03 PM
minimoog71 minimoog71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can my iLok keep both licences for PT9 AND PT8?

Thank you very much.

I have PT 8 LE, and on the iLok I have all the authorizations for plug-ins and Music Production Toolkit.
Do you think I need a different iLok?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2011, 08:22 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Can my iLok keep both licences for PT9 AND PT8?

As Albee mentioned, you will not need a separate Ilok, because Protools 8 does not use one. Anytime and anyplace you need to use PT8, you will need to have your 002 or some other LE interface hooked up for it to work, just like you always have.

PT9 will require the Ilok to be hooked up.

Also, be aware that the Music Toolkit will not be needed in PT9, as all the functionality is built in (minus the other plugins that came with the bundle, you will still want to install those).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2011, 01:38 AM
minimoog71 minimoog71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can my iLok keep both licences for PT9 AND PT8?

I understand, thank you.

You guys are absolutely right about PT8.
At the time, I bought a 002 Factory and the MPToolkit, and that's why I'm running it with the iLok.. now I remember!
(it's weird, you get lost behind gear and studio everyday and sometimes forget the basics!!).

I just wanted to make sure that PT9 license will only be added to the iLok and won't upgrade/erase/deactivate any other license.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moogerfooger AD and RM Licences are in my ILOK flautista AAX Plug-ins 24 01-10-2014 11:24 AM
Question on PT licences and iLok DonaldM Pro Tools 11 5 06-24-2013 11:33 AM
Transferring licences to iLok. kRokksOn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-22-2007 05:08 PM
iLok trial licences David Kalosi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-08-2006 03:12 AM
Where are my licences to transfer on my iLok? wasabi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-05-2005 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com