Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Old 10-23-2017, 11:28 AM

Default Navigating Large VI Template

Hey All,

I have been using a large composing template for a few years now which has around 300 VI tracks loaded. Currently for navigating all those tracks I have been using Memory Locations that will only show a certain kind of instrument. For example, Memory Location #1 will show just my Spitfire violins, #2 will show just Addictive Drums, etc.

I have long wished an elegant solution to navigating all these tracks such and am looking to setup something on my iPad. I have seen this done really well on Cubase and Logic but never with PT. I came across this video of Brian Tyler courtesy of Output - https://youtu.be/dogHOIdjefc?t=192

You will notice he talks about being able to "search" for a track and having it display. I has assumed the most you could do with an iPad app (Lemur, Metagrid, TouchOSC, etc) would be programming the app to use memory locations to show instruments.

Anyone have an idea about what he might be using to achieve this?

And another question. I have also always wished I could use a quick key to show "only the tracks with clips". That way when I could easily view just the tracks I am actively using in the current session. Anyone doing something like this with PT?

Cheers,
Andrew

Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 2023.9
Old 10-23-2017, 11:30 PM

Default Re: Navigating Large VI Template

I bought an S6 for obviously mixing but end up using it quite a bit during the writing phase. My orchestral template has close to 900 tracks and i can access any of them via the tactile screen.

I also work in Cubase and able to do the same thing via an iPad and Lemur.
Old 10-24-2017, 02:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post