Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Old 11-15-2006, 05:30 AM

Default Merging an OMF

HI
Im pretty new to PT TDM but Ive a question regarding OMF files.
I was surprised there was no Import OMF to open an OMF sequence, and the only way I could find to achieve this was to drag it into the session directly.
1) Is this the correct way?

2) Once Ive been working on thew sessio, im told there is a new OMf available with some new material that I need to add to the existiong session.
How can I merge the 2 together into 1 complete session?

Thanks in advance.

Peter
Old 11-15-2006, 06:28 AM

Default Re: Merging an OMF

File/Import/Session Data...

or alt-shift-I

frank.
Old 11-15-2006, 08:27 AM

Unfortunately you can not import session data from a OMF unless you have Digitranslator installed (Pro Tools may be the only DAW that does not incorporate OMF import/export as part of the core program.) And it's not cheap...I think it's around $500.
Old 11-15-2006, 11:02 AM

HI
Yes my TDM does open and run OMFs so it must have Digitranslator.
But how do I merge a new OMF into an existing timeline without overwriting anything.
Peter
Old 11-15-2006, 11:04 AM

Quote:
HI
Yes my TDM does open and run OMFs so it must have Digitranslator.
But how do I merge a new OMF into an existing timeline without overwriting anything.
Peter
I can only repeat myself:

File/Import/Session Data...

or alt-shift-I

select OMF and import desired tracks as new tracks. done

it´s works as if you were inporting track from a PT session.

frank.
Old 11-15-2006, 11:36 AM