Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-01-2019, 05:14 AM

Default What makes Pro Tools pro?

Recently I see more and more people complaining on Pro Tools, not buying update plans and eventually landing with another DAW. I'm a relatively new user to PT, I bought it 2 years ago and I'm still learning. I switched from Reaper which I still occasionally use and this year I finally bought a license ($60) and now I wonder is there anything in Pro Tools that I cannot do in Reaper. I like how PT is organised, I like keyboard shortcuts, I like the way it looks but o the other hand Reaper is very customisable, I can easily make custom menus or assign shortcuts to any available action, I can even make it look like Pro Tools and so my question is: what is special in PT so it costs that much (nearly 20 times more than Reaper)? I mean for stereo music making, which is probably the most common use for PT. What are THE features that people choose it instead of anything else? If you were up to pick your first DAW ever once again to learn from a scratch and work on later, what would make you like Pro Tools the most?

PS. I wish this thread wouldn't end up like every other DAW wars thread, I'd really like to learn some cool options or eventually poke AVID if there's really nothing fancy in it but just 'industry standard' cliches etc.
Old 03-01-2019, 10:04 AM

Default Re: What makes Pro Tools pro?

Where you’re mistaken is thinking stereo music making is the common use of PT. Once you realize that, the rest will need no explanation.

Blink
Old 03-01-2019, 10:23 AM

I'm not the best person to speak about this. I'm a Reaper user this days, but like you my primary output is stereo music. For me, Reaper is great.