Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:48 PM
digginin9 digginin9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer/Patchbay Router ??

Our gear: Delta 1010, M Powered PT 7.3, and Windows XP Home Edition. Recently, we went from using Cakewalk Sonar v. 4 software to M Powered Pro Tools. Prior to using Pro Tools, we were using the Monitor Mixer function of the Delta 1010 to send out recorded mix through Monitor Mixer H/W Out 1/2, AND, Monitor Mixer H/W Out S/PDIF. The H/W Out 1/2 went to our powered PA mixer, and the H/W Out S/PDIF went to our Roland digital monitors. Without getting into a lot of detail here, when we recorded with M Powered, 6 tracks of audio, each track with it's output set to stereo 1-2, we couldn't get the Monitor Mixer in Delta's control panel to play on either the H/W Out 1/2 or the H/W Out S/PDIF. Do the Monitor Mixer faders have any effect on producing sound when using Pro Tools M Powered software?

I noticed in the Getting Started manual for M Powered 7.3 on p. 19 "Configuring I/O Set Up", that "Pro Tools M-Powered BYPASSES the M-Audio mixer that is displayed in the M-Audio Control Panel. The interface’s hardware inputs and outputs show up directly in Pro Tools I/O Setup."

Is there something more I need to understand about M Powered Pro Tools and the Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer as far as being able to use the Monitor mixer functions of the H/W Out 1/2 and the H/W Out S/PDIF for monitoring purposes? All help appreciated! This is my first post.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:44 PM
catalin rasvan catalin rasvan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Default Re: Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer/Patchbay Router ??

Unfortunatly you can't use(yet) the monitor mixer of delta 1010 in M-Powerd.
I use some time this in Cubase I have also Cubase and it works (like in your Cakewalk)
I don't know from the future what will happent to this subiect in Pro Tools M-Powered.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2007, 06:26 PM
chuckills chuckills is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer/Patchbay Router ??

You could use one of the send slots in PT to route the output to your S/PDIF and still have the main output going to your PA mixer. Or the other way round.

Just hold down ALT key when selecting I think and it would change all channels at once.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2007, 06:41 PM
digginin9 digginin9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Delta 1010 Monitor Mixer/Patchbay Router ??

Thanks here to Catalin and Chuckills!

I really appreciate the quick responses. First, thanks Catalin, for the information about not being able to use Monitor Mixer with M Powered. At least, now I know that I wasn't imagining this to be a problem. I'm curious how you found this out? Is there an article or document about it?

Secondly, thanks Chuckills, for the work around idea. I'll have to think it through a little, but it sure sounds like it will work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixer choice and the future of the DELTA 1010 andy_witr Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 71 06-16-2010 01:58 PM
Anyone using the Delta 1010? Loudnoize Ent. Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-13-2006 02:18 PM
Delta 1010 PCI Finchy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-15-2004 11:55 AM
delta 1010 nelsonswilly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-13-2001 12:36 PM
delta 1010 nelsonswilly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-11-2001 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com