Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2002, 01:39 AM
bp78 bp78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nyc
Posts: 56
Default anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

I'm buying my 1st PT system.My plan is to cascade outputs into a Neve 51 series console for mixdown.
Problem 1: The Neve has become a constant maintenance issue,but still sounds good.
Problem 2: The Neve can only mix stereo-no surround-so the writing is on the wall.
Problem 3: To the new wave of clients the Neve looks "old School" and dinosaur-like.
Have any of you recently switched to a digital console and do you prefer their mixbuss to the PT mixbuss?---Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2002, 07:26 AM
Steve Smith Steve Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 29
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

Do the pres and eq'a in your desk still work and sound well? if so, just get them rackes, use em for processing or tracking and buy a Sony DMX.. works well in this setting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2002, 07:55 AM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

Sony DMX-R100... you can't go wrong
__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2002, 09:02 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,832
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

how is DMX compared to DM2000 and 02R 96K from Yamaha? many on here criticized my 02R but I saw lots of studios in the US being featured on mix magazine using this board along MIX plus...

Besides, I have heard that the Yamaha "toys" are very good controllers too.
thanks for any comment!
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2002, 05:07 PM
bp78 bp78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nyc
Posts: 56
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

BUT--does the final mix sound better coming out of the Sony mixbuss or the PT mixbuss?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2002, 10:29 AM
andrej770 andrej770 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 423
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

Get a Ramsa DA7 and an ADAT Bridge. Can't go wrong for the price. Great pre's too!
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 - OSX 10.13.6 - 32GB RAM - Pro Tools 2018.10 - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card (x2) - HD OMNI - ICON D-Control 32 - Sync I/O - Sonnet xMac Pro Server w/HDX x 1, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
Protools 2018.10 HD Native in 1 project suite
Eristopher Music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2002, 10:53 AM
SOR SOR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lititz, Pa usa
Posts: 45
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

First of all don't break up the console for Pre/Eq Racking ... i have owned and reconed neve 51series boards, 90 % of the problem with the 51 series is that due to there age and at the voltage they run at, the board need to be recapped.. once you do that you shouldn't have many maintance issues with the board.

IMHO, your first choice would be to get that console in good working order. that board sounds excellent with a PT system .

second option would be to use your board as a front end to PT and buy a digital Console to mix with..

SOR
PS; if you have any more questions on the Neve let me know.. also i still have some parts around.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2002, 11:36 AM
tnie tnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Posts: 613
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] Go with the DM2000 many more options compared to the Sony DMX which is cut in half when using 96k [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img] . Also, the link up with Pro-tools as controller can be a great addition the only problem is that it's still a midi connection [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] . It seems that Digi will not release the Eithernet option fro other companies [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] . The best console is still analog!!! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2002, 10:34 PM
bp78 bp78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nyc
Posts: 56
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

SOR--I have recapped the entire board and did a 1and1/2 voltage upgrade. Main problem is channel intermitency. All the techs I've spoken to -including John Klett- said recapping should solve the problem; unfortunately it still persists. My next option would be to replace all the female channel edge connectors in the buckets. Before each session-and sometimes during-I have to take a boosted 1khz tone and shoot all the closed down channel inputs to"open" them. --Since this console has a dynamics section I thought the gates were clamping down, but the last tech I had told me the dynamic section was functioning properly----If you have any ideas please let me know --Thanks Brian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2002, 09:02 PM
Alex Rodriguez Alex Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: some where in the US
Posts: 338
Default Re: anybody switched from anolg to digital console with PT?

It sounds like durty switches to me, but obviously that might be one of the first things tour tech guys should have checked.
By the way, sorry for my english, but what's "recap"?
Alex
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB of RAM, OS 10.4.11, PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using a ART Digital MPA with their 002 console? HELP!!! Trainwreckmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-18-2013 10:54 AM
What's in your digital console survival kit? Sheldon Radford VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 11-19-2013 09:40 AM
D-command and digital console nobi71 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-02-2010 11:31 AM
New Digital live console from Pro-Tools krem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-05-2001 09:49 AM
Digital Consoles v Analog Console using 888-24 Evolution Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-15-2000 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com