Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2013, 06:50 AM
chrismoran chrismoran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 14
Default SC48 to iMac Thunderbolt Issues

Hey all.

We are having an issue with a new iMac that we just deployed at FOH. When playing back or recording into ProTools 11, we are getting stoppage of playback with a buffer error. We're thinking this is somehow related to the Thunderbolt to Firewire setup, as this issue didn't occur on our old iMac that had Firewire 800 natively. Regardless of our CPU cores and percentage settings in PT, the issue is still there.

We're running Mac OS 10.8, with a Thunderbolt to FireWire 800 adapter, then an 800-to-400 cable for connecting to the SC48. We're on desk software 3.0, and this is all a clean install.

Anyone else running into similar issues?

Thanks for the help.

-chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2013, 01:29 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: SC48 to iMac Thunderbolt Issues

A couple of quick thoughts: first, and it's silly but I've found that I almost always have to restart the computer after everything is setup and talking to the desk. The other is, are you using a firewire hard drive to record? I haven't done much with TB and don't know exactly how the adaptor affects things, BUT I've found that using a seperate bus for the record drive (USB, etc) is pretty mandatory as the console interface pretty much maxes out the firewire bus.

Again, the TB adaptor may well be causing other issues, but these are a couple of simple things to start with.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2013, 03:11 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 597
Default Re: SC48 to iMac Thunderbolt Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismoran View Post
Hey all.

We are having an issue with a new iMac that we just deployed at FOH. When playing back or recording into ProTools 11, we are getting stoppage of playback with a buffer error. We're thinking this is somehow related to the Thunderbolt to Firewire setup, as this issue didn't occur on our old iMac that had Firewire 800 natively. Regardless of our CPU cores and percentage settings in PT, the issue is still there.

We're running Mac OS 10.8, with a Thunderbolt to FireWire 800 adapter, then an 800-to-400 cable for connecting to the SC48. We're on desk software 3.0, and this is all a clean install.

Anyone else running into similar issues?

Thanks for the help.

-chris
As I don't use TB>FW I can't be much of a help, but I'm just asking, since you did not mention it, what is the buffer size you are using? You know, after all, it's a buffer error you are getting. Might be just a too small of a buffer size.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2013, 03:33 PM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default Re: SC48 to iMac Thunderbolt Issues

btw i'm using thunderbolt->fw800->fw400 adapters... it is almost working flawless for me with a mac book air! so in case of an imac the issue must be somewhere else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 003 via Thunderbolt on latest iMac SP4C3M4N FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 2 08-12-2013 02:24 AM
PTHD 11 on iMac - thunderbolt ports? asterix2k10 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 07-26-2013 08:13 AM
Imac i5 with HD Thunderbolt Psychonaut4 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 02-21-2013 04:04 AM
Anyone running HDN Thunderbolt + current iMac? raw Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 02-15-2013 05:31 PM
[ASK] iMac thunderbolt with Digi003 Ivaniponk Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 10-03-2011 03:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com