Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2019, 10:57 PM
Modrob Modrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 3
Default Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Newbie here (my trusty Fostex VF-16 after many solid years gave up) older age, and have ventured into the PT world (dragging my feet for some time) with a version M9. I have to admit that after using it for a few months now I’m becoming more a fan. I’m overwhelmed at all that is possible with this software and several features have already made my recording life much easier.😊
That being said, recently I cut all instruments on an old pop song, without a click, choosing to play along with the original live track. Of course the tempo is moving around some, and I’d like to see if I can somehow go backwards and create a solid click (I usually record a click using an old outboard Alesis unit) but I know that can be generated by PT...
I’ve been looking at the manual, reading and seeing videos about Beat Dectective, Quantizing, etc., but my older brain now just doesn’t grasp things as well as it did years earlier...
This particular track has a lot going on, including three horns. Lastly I’ve spent several hours over days trying play drums to it, but never tight enough. I tapped out a click manually throughout but still...
Is it feasible to straighten out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 02:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,708
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Hi, welcome to the community.

It sounds to me you are better off without click... next time record drum kit first
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2019, 11:09 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,939
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

You need to build a tempo map if you want to be able to quantize your new drums to the original song.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2019, 08:08 AM
Modrob Modrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 3
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Maybe I wasn’t clear...
I have cut all the instruments and all have some slight tempo variances due to recording/playing along with an original live track that “moved” in tempo. Is it possible to even out each individual track to a more consistent tempo? THEN I can try adding my drums then...😊
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2019, 09:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,708
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Hi, welcome to the community.

Yes it is possible to create a tempo map that evens out everything, but it isn't a press one button kind of a job. Please download latest protools reference guide and read everything there is about tempo map, then ask more questions
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2019, 09:26 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,930
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

As Janne and the others have said, you need to create a tempo map off the original track. There's a lot in the manual on how to do this. Also, this video explains the process very clearly. Its not a difficult process, but there's a few steps involved and, depending on how much variance there is, its best to go down the entire track, measure by measure. Good luck!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2019, 06:58 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,471
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Creating a Tempo Map is probably the best way, but there is another possibility. See if you can find someone with the latest Melodyne Editor(or check Celmony to see if they offer a demo). With Melodyne Editor in stand-alone mode(not as a plugin in PT) its possible to analyze the tempo(revealing any fluctuations) and then you can choose to correct it(even it out). Obviously, you would need to perform this adjustment exactly the same on all your tracks, OR bounce the tracks(without your new drums) to a stereo audio file and use Melodyne to "fix" that. Then import that into a new session so you can add your drums(with a click at the corrected tempo)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2019, 08:45 PM
Modrob Modrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 3
Default Re: Newbie: how-to even-out trax timings

Thanks for the replies and suggestions guys. About the manual: from the things I’ve read about up to now, it doesn’t seem (to me anyway) to detail the steps in which to go about a process, and tends to leave me scratching my head. (Could be why the one answer above “read manual then ask questions”😊which makes sense&#128522 I have found as I go along the small tasks I’ve wanted to do so far I’ve found help with YouTube videos but the biggest help has been as I learn this task and find it to work, I then make my own notes in a notebook I keep handy, detailing exactly how I did it. It helps a lot when I experience it again maybe sometime later when my memory doesn’t serve me well enough.

On this particular problem, I just sucked it up and kept re-recording most things until I got it a little more together. But I will look in to the tempo map thing further as you all have suggested. Thanks again for the support.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help setting up ram timings please Raoul23 Pro Tools 10 7 05-31-2012 06:36 AM
Exporting timings from track ysiddiqui Pro Tools 10 0 04-02-2012 04:29 PM
RAM Timings Zenman Pro Tools Software (Win) 6 07-07-2011 06:50 AM
RAM timings sw rec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 12-31-2009 01:57 PM
Visual Countown for ADR/VO timings for talent? masterboyle Post - Surround - Video 4 08-03-2009 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com