Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:12 AM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

My computer is always on, but everything else is off.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-05-2019, 12:25 PM
jgaz jgaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zep Dude View Post
The scheduled start is a good idea. I had forgotten about that -did it for a while in the 90's with whatever Mac I had then.


Is there a physical device that can remote start it (not a second computer but perhaps a usb thingamajiggy)? It's too bad they took the power button off the keyboard where it should be.
https://www.mobomo.com/2011/01/remote-cold-boot-a-mac/

If you can find a better way to do this I'd love to hear it, I recently did a lot of research to figure out a way to turn on a mac pro located in another room (machine room), and this is the only way I could find. I even considered using a raspberry pi to send a wake on lan magic packet to the mac pro but that won't turn the power on from an off state it will only wake it up from a sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2019, 06:31 AM
Zep Dude Zep Dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 536
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

Your post confirms what I suspected which is that there's no easy way to remotely boot a mac. I'll locate it within easy reach. Thanks for the info.
__________________
Angelo Montrone
Majestic Music
Studio / Label: www.majesticmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2019, 12:28 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

Why are people so eager to lower the life-expectancy of their investments and raise their electricity bill just to save themselves from walking 5 feet every morning to push a button?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2019, 01:20 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,581
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

When I got my first Mac Pro Tower (migrating from Windows) I never turned that thing off. I must have went 3 months of daily use before I even had to reboot it, but that was on Snow Leopard and that was stable, Able.

All this new crap from iMasters who knows what the stability is like now days
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-06-2019, 01:52 PM
kelsey's Avatar
kelsey kelsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 220
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

I have backups and other scripts that run at night, so I leave it running but have it set to automatically sleep, turn monitors off etc.

https://wanderingear.net
__________________
http://wanderingear.net
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-11-2019, 02:58 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

Of the studios I've worked in maintenance was easily 10x more expensive on the ones that were always on.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-14-2019, 11:42 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,927
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

My computers are on for 200+ days/nights a year, except when I’m away touring. Mostly for night time backups, quick access when I walk in to do a mix tweak, etc.... basically convenience. So far I have never had a Mac hardware die... other than the odd HDD... these days all my critical studio drives are SSD and only had one SSD fail to date, and it was almost new,!so defective.

Keep the dust out... filtered air... routine inspection... clean out the power supply and heatsinks, reseat connectors... use a tiny bit of contact conditioner on PCIe and RAM edge connectors with the appropriate swab (I have had good luck with Chemtronics synthetic chamois type), use a UPS. That’s what I do.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-26-2019, 02:44 AM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default Re: Do you shut down your Mac Pro at night?

Always on.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My O1/Wfd Died Last Night Strider MIDI 0 05-24-2007 02:39 PM
One night in… muzak13 Virtual Instruments 0 04-10-2007 04:50 PM
Not a bad night all in all hearttimes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-02-2006 10:07 PM
just saw "ray" the other night.... badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-24-2004 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com