Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:44 AM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Hi Guys,

On my Eleven Rack if I place the FX Loop before the amp I get terrible hiss, really bad.

After the amp no hiss, totally silent.

It is like this even with nothing actually physically connected to the send/returns!

It basically makes it unusable, is this normal?

Thanks

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2011, 07:25 AM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:14 AM
59tweed 59tweed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern tip of the gorgeous Wasatch mountain range
Posts: 233
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

I don't use equipment in the loop, and am generally inexperienced as such. Still, I will try to get the ball rolling, and perhaps someone more knowledgeable will pop in.

Have you tried removing the gear from the loop to see if it hisses? I tried it and I don't get a hiss, but that is with generally lower gain settings. So, if you are getting a hiss without any gear in the loop, you may have a setting that's kicking out all the noise, or less likely, a hardware failure. Of course, if the hiss goes away without the gear in the loop, you'll to trouble shoot in the other piece of gear.
__________________
a.k.a. crazyForce
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:30 AM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

The hiss is there when there is no gear in the loop.

When you tried did you have the noise gate off on the amp?

Cheers

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:34 AM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Here is a test.

1. go to the factory preset a1

2. Turn the noise gate off in the amp

3. Turn fx loop on

4. set fx loop mix to 100 %

So now we have no noise at all

Now:

5. Move the fx loop in front of the amp


I now get loads of hiss

Cheers

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:38 AM
59tweed 59tweed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern tip of the gorgeous Wasatch mountain range
Posts: 233
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Not in a place to do those now. I will try to remember to check this and report back later today. Is this a setting which you would use in normal use?

I usually don't use a noisegate. But when I do, I normally have the threshold set at around 77 so that there is no extraneous noise when I hold the strings still, but a subtle stroke will still come through.
__________________
a.k.a. crazyForce
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:40 AM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

That would be great, thanks very much.

It is driving me mad, I am sure when I first got the eleven rack it did not have this noise.

All the best

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2011, 12:40 PM
fastart fastart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 27
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

I get the same thing. I tried to put a vol pedal in the loop but there was so much hiss I had to take it out an try some other way of hooking it up.
I was looking for a different way to use the vol pedal other than connected thru my midi controller because i dont like the way the 11r saves its position in the patch. The vol pedal should work in the position its in, not in what position the 11r thinks it's in.....
I did have a wah in the loop before and didn't have a prob with it tho, so why would a vol pedal cause it to hiss?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:14 PM
TheChimp's Avatar
TheChimp TheChimp is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Check your FX Loop User Option and make sure the Mono, Mono-Stereo, Stereo setting is correct for your setup. It's possible that what you're hearing is the 'empty' side of a stereo FX Loop, which is then being amplified by the amp (when placed pre-amp).
__________________
_______________________________
The Chimp
Delivery Manager/CSM, Guitar Products/AAX Plug-ins
P&S Creative Professional
AVID
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:45 PM
BobTheDog BobTheDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Eleven Rack FX Loop - Terrible hiss if placed before amp

Hi,

Are you saying then that even without anything in the loop I may get hiss if the fx loop is on as there is no return signal?

This seems strange?

Cheers

Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack and G major 2: help! (FX loop) Schromeo Eleven Rack 5 01-07-2014 01:24 PM
Eleven Rack with Lexicon PCM92/96 in loop or in AES/EBU I/O dayslypper Eleven Rack 10 10-17-2011 06:06 PM
003 and Eleven Rack - Digital hiss when rec arming SPDF tracks kkguitar macOS 1 10-11-2011 10:42 PM
Can the Eleven Rack loop work with plug-ins? manatarms Eleven Rack 3 04-06-2011 01:51 PM
Eleven Rack Hiss when using live philster65 Eleven Rack 4 11-29-2010 10:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com