Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:07 AM
dksellou dksellou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default purchase of pro tools 8

Dear community,
why is it impossible to buy pro tools LE 8 and I see only upgrade to protools LE?
Please advise...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:30 AM
shtik shtik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 164
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

The upgrade is what you are looking for.
This is the installation for PT8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:27 AM
dksellou dksellou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

Let me be more clear.
I do not have any earlier version of pro tools and I just want to learn pro tolls and buy LE version 8.

Is it possible or do i have to have pro tools 7?
Please advise
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:33 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

The Pro-Tools 8 "Upgrade" Is actually a Full installer, with no Previous version required to instal and run.

They really should "Just call this Pro-Tools 8" purchase, and drop the "Upgrade" from the name, this Q' comes up alot - the "Upgrade" is misleading.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:45 AM
dksellou dksellou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

ok.
thank you so much.
But I am really concerned how a program like that costs only $149....

SO YOU mean that if I purchase the pro tools LE upgrade it will work fine without having any earlier version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:46 AM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,518
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

The reason it is an upgrade is because every Pro Tools LE system sold new includes both the Digidesign Pro Tools LE hardware interface and Pro Tools LE software.

Do you have the required audio hardware to use Pro Tools? It is not a standalone application, specific devices are required, listed on these 2 pages...

Pro Tools LE for Mac OS X Compatibility & Upgrade Information
Quote:
A Digidesign Pro Tools LE hardware interface is required to use Pro Tools LE software.
Pro Tools M-Powered for Mac OS X Compatibility & Upgrade Information
Quote:
A qualified M-Audio hardware interface is required to use Pro Tools M-Powered software.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2009, 12:00 PM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

In other words you need an Mbox or an M powered external piece of hardware (dongle) to run it so PT8 costs $150 and you also need the Pre amp/Dongle/Souncard external device to run it which can be bought from ebay quite cheap ($100) or you need to buy brand new from a shop for cheapish too.

The start price to get you going in the right direction is about $300 and it's well worth it.

But the REAL price, which includes all Digi supported computers and external hard disks etc will bump you up another $1500 minimum I reckon but this way you will reach the best possible track count and VI and RTAS's etc.

I was gonna start a thread called "Pro Tools - The Real Cost" - actually I 'll do it now because it's not a case of the mobox and the software.

Baris
__________________
PTLE8 with an Mbox 2, for now!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:25 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by dksellou View Post
ok.
thank you so much.
But I am really concerned how a program like that costs only $149....

SO YOU mean that if I purchase the pro tools LE upgrade it will work fine without having any earlier version.
Mbox Micro (with PT8) =$250 No inputs, output only
Mbox Mini (with PT8) = $300
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2009, 06:54 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: purchase of pro tools 8

Ahhh... i wasn't even thinking weather the OP had HW or not.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do i purchase pro tools 9? Sting macOS 5 12-03-2012 09:49 AM
Need Help on what Pro Tools to purchase Vantae Pro Tools 10 5 09-01-2012 08:18 AM
Pro Tools 9 purchase help. dougens Pro Tools 9 4 11-24-2010 12:11 PM
pro tools purchase badegg General Discussion 3 12-15-2009 09:36 AM
can one purchase just Pro Tools LE by itself jrbanjo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-10-2006 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com