Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:14 PM
GtrDude GtrDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA.
Posts: 662
Default This Website


Does this website ever seem like it's one of the slowest website on the internet?

Simple things like clicking "my home" and links in there, if you have any saved, take forever.
Posting a message, and just regular browsing on this site take a very long time.

GD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:42 AM
GtrDude GtrDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA.
Posts: 662
Default Re: This Website

bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:24 AM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: This Website

agreed. It seems to be even slower using Firefox on Mac. It's a little quicker in Safari. Funny thing, the "website" runs fine. It's the forum that's slow.
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2008, 09:26 PM
GtrDude GtrDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA.
Posts: 662
Default Re: This Website

Quote:
agreed. It seems to be even slower using Firefox on Mac. It's a little quicker in Safari. Funny thing, the "website" runs fine. It's the forum that's slow.
I know. It's amazing.
Somebody told me to download Firefox for this site to be faster.
I did and I don't even like that browser. No help at all.
Still at a crawl. If anything it's even slower with Firefox than IE.

GD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:17 AM
xodiac xodiac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 91
Default Re: This Website

the official forum for the users of the industry standard recording systems - go figure.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2008, 03:34 AM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 520
Default Re: This Website

Yup... this forum loads the slowest of all sites I browse
__________________
Digi002R PT2018 Win 10
INTEL Core i7 930, 3.52 Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
CORSAIR XMS3 12GB 1600Mhz
2 X WD 1TB Caviar Black 64 GB cache

MOTU Traveller PT2018
MacBook Pro Mojave
16GB DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2008, 07:47 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: This Website

My expirence has been its pretty slow with Safari, Camino, Firefox, and IE7. I think the amount of people logged in to the DUC at any given time have a lot to do with it. It also loads up pages faster if your not logged in.

Sometime you wonder if the actual DUC server isn't some old castoff G3 whirring away in a janitors closet in Daly City

I can't say its a hardware problem or software issue. Or Both. I do think there is better forum software out there. Surf the DUC and then hit a site like the Les Paul Forum thats using vBulletin... The difference is pretty dramatic AND the search engine actually works and is easy to use

But yeah the DUC can be excruciatingly slow and that can lead to double posts because everybody is jabbing at the Submit button.

Maybe someone should start a a "Best Servers for PT" thread.

It would be great to see the DUC run faster but at the same time I would rather see the money spent on R and D.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-29-2008, 03:08 AM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 520
Default Re: This Website

Today I noticed that this site is actually zippy to load, even logged in! Anyone else notice that?
__________________
Digi002R PT2018 Win 10
INTEL Core i7 930, 3.52 Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
CORSAIR XMS3 12GB 1600Mhz
2 X WD 1TB Caviar Black 64 GB cache

MOTU Traveller PT2018
MacBook Pro Mojave
16GB DDR3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website 404 airon Pro Tools 10 2 12-15-2011 01:09 PM
website = sad 7thheaven General Discussion 3 08-17-2010 10:41 PM
Is the LA-2A (see website below) same as BF-3A ? cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-17-2004 06:29 PM
Website JEromeo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-17-2004 09:39 PM
Y2K Website MrKnewitAll Tips & Tricks 1 01-03-2000 08:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com