Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2010, 06:52 AM
dougens dougens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 28
Default Pro Tools 9 purchase help.

Am I right in thinking that if I bought an Mbox 2 with LE 7 I can upgrade to Pro Tools 9 LE (Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade from LE/M-Powered) and get rid of my mbox and just use the ilok i have to authorise?

i also have rme fireface 800-so now i can use this with LE9 as it's asio/core audio based? if so Yeeeeeeeees!

finally, it says "Additionally, you will need to enter your iLok ID and hardware interface serial number in order to activate your software. You will not be able to activate this product if you do not have these"

i take it my hardware interface serial number is my mbox serial number? so don't get rid of before registering pro tools 9....?

thanks for help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010, 07:36 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,788
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 purchase help.

Yes, you will need the hardware serial number from your mbox to get the crossgrade price.

And assuming you are selling the mbox, be sure to tell the buyer that they will not be able to use that to get the upgrade price because you already used it. You may want to include the V7 software that came with it though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2010, 07:40 AM
dougens dougens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 purchase help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Yes, you will need the hardware serial number from your mbox to get the crossgrade price.

And assuming you are selling the mbox, be sure to tell the buyer that they will not be able to use that to get the upgrade price because you already used it. You may want to include the V7 software that came with it though.
Thanks and I would let them know as well.

And I can use PT9 Le with my rme FF800 as it's asio/core audio based?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2010, 10:16 AM
BBass BBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 44
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 purchase help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougens View Post
And I can use PT9 Le with my rme FF800 as it's asio/core audio based?

thanks
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 12:11 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,811
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 purchase help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougens View Post
Thanks and I would let them know as well.

And I can use PT9 Le with my rme FF800 as it's asio/core audio based?

thanks
Just to clarify it is Protools 9 (not Protools 9 LE). And yes, it will work with your RME Fireface 800. Luck you.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.2 running Protools 2019.12.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do i purchase pro tools 9? Sting macOS 5 12-03-2012 09:49 AM
Need Help on what Pro Tools to purchase Vantae Pro Tools 10 5 09-01-2012 08:18 AM
pro tools purchase badegg General Discussion 3 12-15-2009 09:36 AM
purchase of pro tools 8 dksellou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-16-2009 06:54 PM
can one purchase just Pro Tools LE by itself jrbanjo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-10-2006 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com