Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2012, 03:38 AM
ACM Production Admin ACM Production Admin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Guildford
Posts: 5
Default iLok Licensing

Hi there,
I was wondering if there is any way of using a license server to distribute PT 9 licenses over a network like Avid do with Sibelius? I have had a window appear on start up saying "looking for license server" before and I was hoping for an official answer saying wether or not this is possible to do? I work in an educational establishment where having 60+ iLoks running via USB extension cables just isn't a practical way of authorising the program. Would anyone know of a different way of doing this?

Best regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: iLok Licensing

I have not found any way of doing out 100+ seats over the network
It would be nice if there was a way
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2012, 07:17 AM
ACM Production Admin ACM Production Admin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Guildford
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok Licensing

It would be amazing! PT is currently getting a very bad rap from students as the iLok system just isnt a viable option! Avid PLEASE!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2012, 09:28 AM
Deefern Deefern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Default Re: iLok Licensing

Hello, I am new to Pro Tools and this forum. I have done a trial of Pro Tools 10 in windows and it's mind blowing. Can anyone here please let me know if I were to buy this version of Pro Tools, would it still be alright for me to work with the trial version using the authorizing code from AVID's iLok or do I have to uninstall the trial version first.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2012, 09:52 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,457
Default

The trial software is the real software. Load the license on your iLok and go.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2012, 11:29 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: iLok Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACM Production Admin View Post
It would be amazing! PT is currently getting a very bad rap from students as the iLok system just isnt a viable option! Avid PLEASE!!!!!
that's because students don't like to pay for anything

tell them it's a life lesson, "you have to pay to play"
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2012, 11:42 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,276
Default Re: iLok Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACM Production Admin View Post
It would be amazing! PT is currently getting a very bad rap from students as the iLok system just isnt a viable option! Avid PLEASE!!!!!
It never ceases to amaze me how a student will drop thousands of dollars on tuition, but when a small expense is incurred for a book, piece of software, or piece of gear they need for the class, it's "not viable". What happens when your client brings you a pro tools session and you can't open it? "Uhhhh, this is not viable..."
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2012, 04:56 PM
Deefern Deefern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Default Re: iLok Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The trial software is the real software. Load the license on your iLok and go.

Darryl
Thanks Darryl, will the iLok from Avid work or do I have to go and download the license from iLok.com? I did have a look @ iLok.com but there's no licence for Pro Tools, only the Trial version. The Box set That I have has also got an iLok from Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deefern View Post
Thanks Darryl, will the iLok from Avid work or do I have to go and download the license from iLok.com? I did have a look @ iLok.com but there's no licence for Pro Tools, only the Trial version. The Box set That I have has also got an iLok from Avid.
The one from Avid should work, I likely comes populated (although I'm not sure what package you purchased), just try it and see. But also follow the all the instructions to register that products with Avid that should deposit a license in your iLok.com account.

iLok.com let's you move licenses between iloks if you want to.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2012, 08:14 AM
Deefern Deefern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Default Re: iLok Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The one from Avid should work, I likely comes populated (although I'm not sure what package you purchased), just try it and see. But also follow the all the instructions to register that products with Avid that should deposit a license in your iLok.com account.

iLok.com let's you move licenses between iloks if you want to.

Darryl
Thank you very much for your help Darryl, It worked just like you said above. Now I know I am in very good company here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure 1.1 ilok licensing issue FLi Virtual Instruments 18 08-15-2013 07:51 AM
iLok licensing problem msat Pro Tools 9 16 02-11-2013 11:13 AM
Licensing? chip88 Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2012 09:40 AM
SFX licensing MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 2 08-14-2011 04:51 PM
question about ilok licensing... thenassaproject Virtual Instruments 6 12-24-2010 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com