Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 10-13-2018, 05:00 AM

Default Latency and system configuration help!

I am new to PT, been using Cubase and now jumped in to PT and having a little issue.
My set up is I am using a Windows 7 premium Dell Computer and currently it only has 12GB of ram installed (can go 16 max) it's a I7 2600 3.4ghz processor. Samsung ssd boot and Os drive and 7200 rpm secondary drives.

At the moment I am using Protools with my Sony DMXr100 digital mixer, where I use the Sony as my preamps and direct output to protools via RME Raydat and ADAT lightpipes. I currently track at 48k exclusively. I then Output Protools back to the Sony to mix on the board (just because I am use to the good old console setups)... and it is working quite well.

Everything seems to be working fine and actually sounds great.... the problem comes when you start to pile on the plugins and begin overdubs (mainly vocals) that's where the latency starts to pile up. ( have the system set at 256. If I lower the buffer I get the pops and clicks... if I start to trun off the plugins it gets better. While mixing with the higher buffer it works fine for mixing.....

To get around this I find if I let the singer listen to the input rather than the routed signal thru protools we have no problem so that has been the way I've got around that particular problem.

Now for the big question, one of the engineers working with me says it's all just a memory problem and if I get more system memory that problem will go away... but, my current system will max out at 16 gb and I'm not sure the difference between 12 and 16gb willl be that much help and I can not go above 16gb.