Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-30-2008, 07:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,794
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Quote:
Quote:
Tomas, if everything has hit a cement-wall, have you tried running
PT with Windows/bootcamp on your Imac 3.06?
Oh hell no, lol windows will probably be the last thing I would ever do again.

Nah, I found a solution to my problems....... macpro 8 core.

Not the newest one as it hasn't been certified so I ended up paying premium for a generation old machine just cause we are not getting the certs fast enough.

Run beautiful under leopard and 7.4.2.

Had a little problem finding the 003 at first to perform the firmware update and that made me suspicious of the 003 but once it finally did it was fine from there (Cross my fingers). I can't help but think that there is something fishy on the firewire/power of my 003 but only time will tell, I heard they fixed the harness issue that the 002 suffered from on the 003.
Tomas - Am I to assume you no longer have the iMac then?

If you do, or possibly know off-hand what the model number of your iMac was, can you tell us?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-30-2008, 08:46 AM
Tomas Chinchilla Tomas Chinchilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 41
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

24" Aluminum iMac

Model name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 Ghz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
Memory: 4GB
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B03
SMC Version: 1.21f4

Bought at the end of 3rd quarter in 07 (Sept-Oct time frame)

The machine is extremely fast and kicks ass for most everything else. I use it to capture High Definition video from my Canon A1, HV20 and my Sony FX1 via firewire and edit with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-01-2008, 07:47 PM
Vogger Vogger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Hi Tomas,

Thanks for all your contributions to this thread. I am glad to hear that you have a solution worked out. I still don't feel we've learned a thing about Digi+iMac, however. (Not your fault, of course.) And now it seems that while Digidesign has not yet tested any of the iMacs or Mac Pro Books that are actually on the market, Digidesign is (acc. to a feverish mass-email I received) racing to work out 10.5.4 compatibility. Another OS revision to use with our still-untested Macs. Hmm....

I think I am just going to buy an iMac 3.06 GHz and an 003 [or MBox Pro] and hope for the best. If I get burned and it doesn't work out, not sure what I'll do but it might involve just returning the Digi gear and working out another solution for music production.

Regards,
Vogger
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:17 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

I'm sure you will be fine, and def get the 003R if you have the dough, MUCH more flexible for future upgrades. Also if you don't want to be totally crippled for audio recording, dish out the $199 for Logic express and use the 003R for your interface for Logic. At least you will be recording, but I bet PT will work fine.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:40 PM
Vogger Vogger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Thank you, OddsAre!~
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-02-2008, 03:54 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Quote:
24" Aluminum iMac

Model name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 Ghz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
Memory: 4GB
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B03
SMC Version: 1.21f4

Bought at the end of 3rd quarter in 07 (Sept-Oct time frame)

The machine is extremely fast and kicks ass for most everything else. I use it to capture High Definition video from my Canon A1, HV20 and my Sony FX1 via firewire and edit with no issues.
Strange. This thread supposed to be about the latest (April 2008) iMacs (20'' @ 2.4 & 2.66 Ghz and 24'' @ 2.8 & 3.06 Ghz) and after almost 2 pages, Tomas finally admits that he has July 2007 iMac model making great confusion to all thread readers and DigiSupport.

Indeed, previous iMac generation (the first aluminum models) had a lot of firewire issues discussed on many audio related forums including DUC.
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-02-2008, 05:41 AM
Tomas Chinchilla Tomas Chinchilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 41
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Quote:
Quote:
24" Aluminum iMac

Model name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 Ghz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
Memory: 4GB
Boot ROM Version: IM71.007A.B03
SMC Version: 1.21f4

Bought at the end of 3rd quarter in 07 (Sept-Oct time frame)

The machine is extremely fast and kicks ass for most everything else. I use it to capture High Definition video from my Canon A1, HV20 and my Sony FX1 via firewire and edit with no issues.
Strange. This thread supposed to be about the latest (April 2008) iMacs (20'' @ 2.4 & 2.66 Ghz and 24'' @ 2.8 & 3.06 Ghz) and after almost 2 pages, Tomas finally admits that he has July 2007 iMac model making great confusion to all thread readers and DigiSupport.

Indeed, previous iMac generation (the first aluminum models) had a lot of firewire issues discussed on many audio related forums including DUC.

??????????????

I think I stated that pretty early on....!

DIGI, if you'd like I could move on to a different thread altogether and label it "July 2007 iMac model" .... wouldn't want someone getting offended.

"Tomas finally admits that he has July 2007 iMac model" ...... good god!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:01 AM
Vogger Vogger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Hi all due respect to Denka, I believe Tomas cited his model in his first post: "I have had a 24" 2.4ghz with a 003." Additionally, his model is arguably subject to the same issue I had, namely, what does it mean for a Mac model to not have been tested by Digi. Certainly Digi knows that the 24" 2.4 GHz iMac is a mid 2007 model?

Regards,
Vogger
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-02-2008, 09:08 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,794
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Quote:
Hi all due respect to Denka, I believe Tomas cited his model in his first post: "I have had a 24" 2.4ghz with a 003." Additionally, his model is arguably subject to the same issue I had, namely, what does it mean for a Mac model to not have been tested by Digi. Certainly Digi knows that the 24" 2.4 GHz iMac is a mid 2007 model?

Regards,
Vogger
We're well aware of the different Mac models being discussed, however I didn't think it necessary to separate them given that the issues being discussed could apply to any iMac model.

We have both the model that Tomas has, as well as the latest 3.06ghz model here in tech support and they're working fine so, while our official testing of these models is not ready yet, our experience in tech support would indicate it's a pretty safe bet that they'll work properly.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-02-2008, 05:21 PM
Vogger Vogger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: Intel iMac 3.06 GHz not \"Officially Qualified\"

Digi Tech Support:

Thanks for your most recent answer. It was helpful to know that Digidesign is in fact working with the newers Macs, and to know what the overall feeling is regarding the likelihood of these machines having issues.

Regards,
Vogger
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS X 10.6.8 Officially Qualified Avid Technical Alerts 0 08-05-2011 03:58 PM
Mac OS X 10.6.8 Officially Qualified Avid Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 08-05-2011 03:58 PM
Mac OS X 10.6.6 Officially Qualified Avid Technical Alerts 0 01-24-2011 09:42 PM
Mac OS X 10.6.5 Officially Qualified Avid Technical Alerts 0 12-24-2010 06:39 PM
Is this drive qualified for PT LE, intel iMac stratquebec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-31-2009 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com