Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-10-2020, 01:38 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 393
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by moogboy100 View Post
Pro Tools dialogs and windows look incredibly dated and out of place now in the Big Sur MacOS environment.
I've thought that for years. PR needs a serious graphical user interface redo. But my guess is that Avid will never, ever change it. Can you imagine the uproar from all the diehard PT lifers? They wouldn't have it!

Case in point: Open up the X-form window and get your microscope out.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2020, 10:13 AM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 438
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

They don't have proper video support in Catalina, so it doesn't matter, AVID is completely behind every DAW, Logic, Cubase/Nuendo, Studio One, etc, can play, and bounce to a Video with audio, Pro Tools can not...so what on earth make you think, they will support the next OS...
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 GB crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad-core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.12 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.12 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.2
...........
(2) Apollo X8 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2020, 03:16 PM
Z-Chord's Avatar
Z-Chord Z-Chord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 58
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzbass56 View Post
They don't have proper video support in Catalina, so it doesn't matter, AVID is completely behind every DAW, Logic, Cubase/Nuendo, Studio One, etc, can play, and bounce to a Video with audio, Pro Tools can not...so what on earth make you think, they will support the next OS...
I didn't think this would work...
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5
2018 i7 Mac Mini 32 GB RAM

"Great things are done by a series of small things brought together." -Vincent Van Gogh
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2020, 09:09 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 29
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzbass56 View Post
They don't have proper video support in Catalina, so it doesn't matter, AVID is completely behind every DAW, Logic, Cubase/Nuendo, Studio One, etc, can play, and bounce to a Video with audio, Pro Tools can not...so what on earth make you think, they will support the next OS...
Pro Tools has historically been behind the curve. Been that way for 25 years or so. Avid will support OS 11 at some point. The user base is too deep to discard it. The guys doing more or less big time work around here haven't moved from High Sierra let alone Mojave. It doesn't need day one support because those that depend on the tool for their livelihood won't switch that soon anyway. It's an appliance that's used as a tool to perform a task just as a multitrack was back in the olden days.

Apple Silicon is a ways from matching a current Mac Pro. Those Macs are going to be around for a while. There are still a lot of guys using trash cans.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2020, 12:34 PM
polyh3dron polyh3dron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

Quote:
Originally Posted by moogboy100 View Post
Big Sur's GUI and Pro Tools' GUI === oil and water!!

Pro Tools dialogs and windows look incredibly dated and out of place now in the Big Sur MacOS environment.
I guess Big Sur users will finally almost know how Windows 10 PT users feel.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-20-2020, 10:54 PM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 67
Default Re: I tried Pro Tools 2020.5 on MacOS 11 Big Sur

This kind of thing rarely happens with Windows apps.

There is something about the design of either PT or MacOS that makes these version-upgrades-that-completely-break-everything quite suspect to me. One or the other is very poorly designed if this happens every time.

I know MacOS cares less about backwards compatibility than Microsoft does with Windows, but sheesh.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall older version when updating Pro Tools 2020.5 on macOS? Dphx2 macOS 7 07-04-2020 09:36 AM
What is the most recommended MacOS for Pro Tools 2020? Zak7 Pro Tools 2020 5 05-02-2020 04:20 PM
Cannot install Pro Tools 2020.3 (macOS) iz_thewiz Pro Tools 2020 1 04-06-2020 12:16 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com