Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2012, 07:04 AM
Dulip Gnanakan Dulip Gnanakan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Playback Issue - MP9

Sometimes when starting playback, the playback button comes on together with the stop button (both stay lighted for a few seconds) but playback does not happen until I have let the system lie idle for a couple of minutes and then pressed the space bar again - but then the problem keeps coming up every so often and is very frustrating.
I'm running Pro Tools MP 9.0.5 on a Mac Pro Quad Core (8 GB RAM) OS X 10.7 Lion and my audio interface is a ProjectMix I/O (Firewire)

Is this a bug?

Dulip
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2012, 09:06 PM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Playback Issue - MP9

This has been a known problem with PT 9 for a while now. Try changing the playback buffer size to a different setting, then back again. If that doesn't work, trash Pro Tools Prefs and Databases and restart.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2012, 10:17 PM
Dulip Gnanakan Dulip Gnanakan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Playback Issue - MP9

Thank you PD-John for your reply.
I did try what you suggested and it seems to work even though it interrupts concentration.
The whole issue seriously undermines ones workflow and constitutes a huge minus for PT 9 though.
I wonder if Avid will even bother to address it.

D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:15 AM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Playback Issue - MP9

Yes, it was very distracting for me when I encountered the issue - I could only fix it by trashing Prefs and restarting.. not a good look when working with clients. However I'm glad to say that PT10 fixed this for me; I've experienced it a couple of times a few weeks ago but it's pretty much vanished since then.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:19 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Playback Issue - MP9

...sounds like it's waiting for sync.... I wonder if it's waiting for SMPTE(?)
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:39 PM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Playback Issue - MP9

Quote:
Originally Posted by bashville View Post
...sounds like it's waiting for sync.... I wonder if it's waiting for SMPTE(?)
I believe the problem is this:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=306153
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 playback issue Mac OS X JRodriguez2109 macOS 6 03-13-2012 11:31 PM
playback issue beatbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-12-2009 04:49 PM
re- playback issue jaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-12-2008 12:48 PM
Playback Issue vsideproductions Tips & Tricks 1 08-05-2006 07:19 PM
6.7 amd DVD playback issue? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-05-2004 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com