Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:01 AM
djrucksack djrucksack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" message

Hi.

I had this problem before, so I thought it would be a good idea to reinstall OS X and all my software, starting from scratch to make sure that all of the drivers and versions are correct. I'm running:

OS X 10.4.4 on a Powerbook G4 1.5 Ghz with 1.5 Gig or Ram and an external FW800 hard disk
Pro Tools M-Powered version 7.1

A Projectmix I/O which I installed before Pro Tools, and updated the driver to the on that's meant for OS X 10.4.4, and also I updated the firmware (although this says that it's for 10.4.2)

I'll be playing back something I've recorded, and suddenly I lose audio output, and then Pro Tools tells the the above message.

Any ideas what's going on?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:10 PM
djrucksack djrucksack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" message

I forgot to mention, I bought a PCMCIA firewire card (unbranded) to give the Projectmix its own bus. Could this be causing the problem? Perhaps it's giving the Projectmix an unreliable connection...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2006, 04:39 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,273
Default Re: Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" message

Usually that means the MIDI/USB interface has issues, which one are you using, and are you using the latest drivers???
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:48 AM
djrucksack djrucksack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" mes

I've got a Korg Micro Kontrol keyboard plugged into a USB socket in the powerbook. I tried connecting the Projectmix to the built-in firewire 400 socket, and the external hard disk to the USB, which meant that I had to disconnect the Korg Keyboard. After doing this everything worked fine, but I don't know if it was because I had disconnected the keyboard, or if it was because the Projectmix was connected via the built-in firewire slot, and not through the PCMCIA firewire card.

I think the problem is to do with the firewire connection to the Projectmix, because I also had problems just playing music with itunes where the sound would stop, and I couldn't get it to work again until I had power cycled the projectmix. This was also fixed by using the built-in firewire socket...

Thanks for your help.

I would appreciate any more opinions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:44 AM
tonedeaf73 tonedeaf73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" mes

I am having the same problems for months now..I called M-Audio they bounce me to Digi and in trun Digi bounce me back to M-audio I was like WTF!? so if any ideas would be great...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2006, 01:01 PM
Glenrose_Media Glenrose_Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Keep getting \"cannot communicate with HUI\" mes

Check out the peripherals on the set-up menu. Whichever things you have set up as a "midi controller" using HUI protocol need to be there everytime you open a session (ie don't change). I Had the same issue with a Frontier Tranzport (communicates with PT as HUI via USB) when I changed it to "native Tranzport" to use with Logic Pro; Check each peripheral setup and make sure they are using HUI as the communication to PT

Jay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot communicate with hardware - error message?? PaddyNixon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2005 06:38 PM
Cant communicate with 002 message bobmiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-22-2004 08:43 PM
Unable to communicate with Digi 002 error message Raul Offendi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2004 05:01 PM
002 Cannot Communicate BIg Mick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-24-2004 04:32 PM
PT can't communicate with Hui? oknarb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-07-2001 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com